Functional Medicine Doctors in North Carolina
Every functional medicine practice we list in North Carolina, by city, with credentials, insurance and telehealth checked against public records and each practice's own website.
We list 29 practices in North Carolina, 26 in 6 cities with listings, led by Charlotte (9), Raleigh (9) and Cary (4). 4 say they bill insurance for visits, 10 offer superbills only and 13 list telehealth; the published first-visit median is $500. Top-scored by our rubric: Hormone Wellness MD (8.9), Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina (7.6), and Carolina Total Wellness and Signature Wellness (7.3 each).
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
- Insurance
- In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
- Membership
- $150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
- HSA / FSA
- Eligible, per Parsley Health
- Medicare / Medicaid
- Not accepted
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Functional medicine in North Carolina, by city
Top-scored practices in North Carolina
The ten highest scores statewide. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile.
| Practice | Credentials | IFMCP | Insurance | Telehealth | Model | Initial visit | New patients | Google rating | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hormone Wellness MD Raleigh | MD, NP | Yes · self-reported | Superbill | Yes · NC, AL | Membership or per visit | $489 | Yes | See profile | 8.9 |
| Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina Chapel Hill | MD, NP | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $400 | Yes | See profile | 7.6 |
| Carolina Total Wellness Raleigh | MD | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $965 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| Signature Wellness Charlotte | NP, ND, PA | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Not reported | $397 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| FoundationMED Raleigh | MD, DO | Not reported | Cash only | Yes | Per visit | $745 | Yes | See profile | 7.0 |
| Optimal Health Medicine Center Charlotte | MD | Yes · self-reported | Superbill | Yes · NC, SC | Not reported | Not reported | Yes | See profile | 7.0 |
| SouthPark Functional Medicine Charlotte | MD | Yes · self-reported | Superbill | Not reported | Membership or per visit | $750 | Not reported | See profile | 6.2 |
| Staywell Health Raleigh | NP | Not reported | Cash only | Not reported | Direct primary care | Not reported | Not reported | See profile | 5.8 |
| Greenway Health Center Raleigh | DC | Not reported | Superbill | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | See profile | 5.4 |
| Benton Integrative Medicine Huntersville | MD, ND, DC | Yes · self-reported | Cash only | Yes | Direct primary care | Not reported | Not reported | See profile | 5.3 |
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. Insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
More functional medicine practices in North Carolina
Practices outside the cities with their own guide, by our score.
Functional medicine in North Carolina: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in North Carolina?
We list 29 functional medicine practices in North Carolina, as of October 2026. Of these, 26 are in 6 cities with listings: Charlotte (9), Raleigh (9), Cary (4), Durham (2) and Apex (1) are the largest. Another 3 practices are elsewhere in the state.
Do functional medicine practices in North Carolina take insurance?
A few do. Of 29 practices, 4 say they bill insurance for visits. Another 10 say they provide superbills only, 6 say they are cash only, and 9 don't state their insurance policy. Separately, 10 practices say they accept HSA/FSA cards. Ask your insurer what your plan will reimburse.
How much does a first functional medicine visit cost in North Carolina?
Among the 7 practices that publish a first-visit price, the median is $500, ranging from $397 to $965. For follow-ups, 6 practices publish prices, with a median of $360 and a range of $250 to $432. The 3 practices that publish first-visit length list 60 minutes to 90 minutes, with a median of 60 minutes.
What credentials do functional medicine practitioners in North Carolina have?
Practices most often list MDs, followed by chiropractors. By number of practices: MD (14), DC (11), NP (8), ND (4), PA (4) and DO (4). These credentials are self-reported. Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence. Practitioners hold their own licences, so confirm a clinician's licence with the state board.
Do these practices offer telehealth?
Some do. 13 of 29 practices say they offer telehealth. Of those, 2 list North Carolina, 0 name other states only, and 11 don't name states. Telehealth coverage is what practices say on their sites. Before a video visit, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state.
Can I talk to a practice before booking?
Often, yes. 12 of the 29 North Carolina practices say they offer a discovery call before booking. Of those, 10 say the call is free. Check each practice's profile or website for how to schedule one.
Do functional medicine practices in North Carolina see children?
Some do. 4 of the 29 practices say they see children, and 4 publish the ages they see. If you are booking for a child, confirm the ages a practice sees before you schedule.
Are these practices accepting new patients?
Only 4 of the 29 North Carolina practices say they are accepting new patients. For any other practice, contact it directly to ask about availability before you plan a visit.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
Full methodology →Sources
- NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
- Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
- Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages
Related
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.