Functional medicine directory · Mecklenburg County
9 Best Functional Medicine Doctors in Charlotte, NC
Compare 9 functional medicine practices in Charlotte by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.
Charlotte, North Carolina has 9 functional medicine practices in our directory. 2 say they bill insurance for visits, 4 offer superbills only, 3 say they offer telehealth, and 2 publish a first-visit price. Top-scored by our rubric are Signature Wellness (7.3), Optimal Health Medicine Center (7.0) and SouthPark Functional Medicine (6.2).
Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert10 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 9 practices checked against NPI records, links to the North Carolina licensing boards and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for Charlotte, NC
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Compare Charlotte functional medicine practices
All 9 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
The best functional medicine doctors in Charlotte, ranked
#1
Signature Wellness
Charlotte
NP + NDSuperbillTelehealth
Signature Wellness is the only one of the 9 Charlotte practices we list that lists NP and PA credentials, and one of 2 that publish a first-visit price: $397 for an initial consultation. It says it offers superbills, telehealth and a free discovery call, and accepts HSA/FSA cards. Conditions on its site include thyroid disorders, hormone imbalance and fatigue.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Nursing
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Board of Nursing · North Carolina Medical Board
MDIFMCP · self-reportedSuperbillTelehealthAccepting new patients
This is the only one of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that says its telehealth covers North Carolina and South Carolina. Its physician lists MD and IFMCP credentials; it offers superbills and doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. It lists a free discovery call, a 90-minute first visit and conditions including chronic fatigue, insomnia and long COVID.
First visit
90 min
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
10 and up
Labs offered:Food sensitivity testing
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
One of only 2 of the 9 Charlotte practices we list that publish a first-visit price: $750 for a 60-minute Comprehensive Initial Consultation, plus a membership at $2,950 per year. Sarita Mahtani, MD, lists IFMCP certification, one of 2 Charlotte practices reporting it. It says it bills by superbill and lists conditions such as Hashimoto’s, PCOS and migraines.
First visit
60 min
Follow-ups
$375 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2007
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:Food sensitivity testing
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
TNT Wellness is one of only 2 of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that bill insurance for visits, and it says it is in-network with BlueCross BlueShield, Aetna, Medcost and Medicare Advantage and accepts Medicare. It lists an MD credential and says it offers telehealth and a free discovery call. Listed conditions include menopause and thyroid disorders.
Ask Dr. Ernst is one of 3 of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that list a DC credential, naming Aaron Ernst, DC, DNM, DHS, LMP, PScD. Confirm his licence with the North Carolina board. It says it offers a free 15-minute discovery call and lists conditions such as thyroid issues, diabetes and chronic pain.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free, 15 min
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Heritage Regenerative Medicine lists IV, ozone, neural and peptide therapy alongside bio-identical hormone optimization, and is one of 5 of the 9 Charlotte practices we list that name an MD. It lists superbills for insurance and says it accepts HSA/FSA cards. Conditions it lists include thyroid, menopause related and autoimmune conditions.
One of only 2 of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that bill insurance for visits, this practice says it is in-network but names no carriers. Both clinicians named on its site list DC credentials, and it says it offers a free discovery call. Conditions it lists include gut health digestive issues, hormonal imbalance, thyroid function and sciatica (radiating leg pain).
Coastal Integrative Wellness is one of only 2 of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that list an ND credential. Its named clinicians list ND, DC and LAc credentials, and it says it is cash only, listing acupuncture, craniosacral therapy and herbal medicine. Conditions on its site include fertility, gastrointestinal health and perimenopause and menopause.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2020
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Carolina HealthSpan Institute is one of 5 of the 9 Charlotte practices we list that name an MD credential, and its site names Kathleen Russo, MD, and physician assistant Ashton McNutt. It says it offers a discovery call and lists areas such as gut microbiome health, and longevity and performance medicine. Confirm licences with the North Carolina board.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Offered
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
Local search demand and how many practices serve it.
1,460
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in Charlotte
Semrush, September 2026
#4
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
1.0
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population
How to choose a functional medicine doctor in Charlotte
01
Decide how you will pay first
Of the 9 Charlotte practices we list, 2 say they bill insurance for visits, 4 say superbill only, 1 is cash only and 2 don't say. Only 2 publish a first-visit price. Ask each practice for its visit costs in writing, and ask whether it takes HSA/FSA cards. 3 say they do.
02
Check credentials, not the label
"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. In Charlotte, credentials listed include MD at 5 practices, DC at 3, ND at 2, NP at 1 and PA at 1. 2 practices report IFMCP certification, which we haven't confirmed. Check each clinician's licence with the North Carolina state board.
03
Ask which lab tests cost extra
6 Charlotte practices name lab tests on their sites. Food sensitivity testing is named by 4, and genetic and micronutrient testing by 3 each. Before booking, ask which tests the practice recommends, whether they are included in any visit or membership fee, and which are billed separately.
04
Confirm state licensing for telehealth
3 Charlotte practices say they offer telehealth. 1 lists North Carolina as a state it serves, and 2 don't name any states. If you live outside the city or the state, ask the clinician to confirm they are licensed where you are before a video visit.
Charlotte vs. all the cities we list
Metric
Charlotte
All listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits
22%
9%
Practices offering telehealth
33%
57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)
22%
11%
Functional medicine in Charlotte: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in Charlotte?
This page lists 9 functional medicine practices in Charlotte, North Carolina, as of its October 2026 update. None of them is a hospital-affiliated program. Prices, insurance, telehealth, credentials, labs and conditions on each profile come from the practice's own website and are labelled self-reported.
Does insurance cover functional medicine in Charlotte?
We can't say what any plan covers, but we can report what practices say. Of the 9 Charlotte practices, 2 say they bill insurance for visits. 4 say they provide superbills only, 1 says it is cash only, and 2 don't state an insurance policy. Ask your insurer and the practice directly before booking.
How much does a functional medicine visit cost in Charlotte?
Few Charlotte practices publish visit prices. Of 9 practices, 2 publish a first-visit price and 1 publishes a follow-up price, so check those profiles for the figures. One practice publishes a membership fee: SouthPark Functional Medicine lists "The SPFM Membership — $2,950 per year", which works out to $246/mo. Ask the others for their fees directly.
Are the functional medicine practitioners in Charlotte medical doctors?
Some are, but not all. Practices list MDs at 5 of the 9 practices, DCs at 3, NDs at 2, an NP at 1 and a PA at 1. These credentials are self-reported. "Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence, and practitioners hold their own licences. Confirm a clinician's licence with the North Carolina state board.
Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in North Carolina?
Yes, some practices say they offer it. 3 of the 9 Charlotte practices say they offer telehealth. 1 of them lists North Carolina among the states it serves, 0 name other states only, and 2 don't name states. Before a video visit, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state.
Do functional medicine practices in Charlotte charge a membership fee?
One does. None of the 9 Charlotte practices is listed with a membership practice model, but 1 publishes a membership fee. SouthPark Functional Medicine lists "The SPFM Membership — $2,950 per year", which is $246/mo. The other practices don't publish a membership fee, so ask them how they charge.
Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in Charlotte?
Some practices say you can. 3 of the 9 Charlotte practices say they accept HSA or FSA cards. That reflects only what the practices say they accept, not whether a given charge qualifies under your account. Check with the practice and your account administrator before you pay.
Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in Charlotte name?
6 of the 9 Charlotte practices name lab tests on their sites. The most named are food sensitivity testing (4 practices), genetic testing (3 practices), micronutrient testing (3 practices), hormone testing (2 practices), organic acids (OAT) (2 practices) and heavy metals testing (1 practice). Test lists are self-reported.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.