19 Best Functional Medicine Doctors in Houston, TX
Compare 19 functional medicine practices in Houston by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.
Houston has 19 functional medicine practices. None say they bill insurance; 5 are superbill-only, 5 cash-only and 9 don't say. Of these, 11 list telehealth and 4 publish a first-visit price, $350 to $698 (median $488). Top-scored by our rubric: KALE Functional Medicine (8.1), Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness (7.4) and Your Wellness Practice (6.7).
Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert12 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 19 practices checked against NPI records, Texas licence records (8 checked against state open data) and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for Houston, TX
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Compare Houston functional medicine practices
All 19 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
The best functional medicine doctors in Houston, ranked
#1
KALE Functional Medicine
Houston
MD + NPIFMCP · self-reportedSuperbillTelehealthAccepting new patients
One of only 2 of the 19 Houston practices we list that self-report an IFMCP-certified clinician, it names MD and NP clinicians on its site. It publishes a first visit starting at $698, against a $488 median among 4 practices publishing prices, and says it provides superbills and telehealth. Listed conditions include thyroid disorders, gut health issues and fatigue.
The only one of the 19 Houston practices we list that lists a DO credential, this The Woodlands practice also lists MDs and PAs. It says it provides superbills, a free discovery call and telehealth in Texas, one of 5 here that do. Conditions it lists include autoimmune conditions, tick-borne diseases and chronic fatigue.
Your Wellness Practice is one of 4 of the 19 Houston practices we list that publish a first-visit price: $500 for its Initial Assessment, against a city median of $488. It lists MD and PA clinicians and says it is cash only, with follow-ups at $500/hr. Conditions on its site include generalized anxiety, insomnia, ADHD and brain fog.
Rise Functional Medicine is one of 4 of the 19 Houston practices we list that publish a first-visit price: a 75-minute Initial Visit at $475, against a city median of $488. It lists NP credentials and says it is cash only, accepts HSA/FSA cards and offers telehealth in Texas. Listed conditions include thyroid disorders and autoimmune disease.
Memorial Longevity Clinic publishes a $350, 60-minute Initial Consultation, the lowest first-visit price of the 4 Houston practices on our list that publish one (median $488). It says it is cash only, offering per-visit care or a $149/mo membership, plus telehealth. Three MDs hold active Texas licences with no public actions; it lists Spanish, Italian and English.
This Humble practice names Eneze Obuaya, M.D., whose Texas licence showed active with no public actions when checked, and Gozi Obuaya, PT, DPT. None of the 19 Houston practices we list bill insurance for visits; this one says it offers superbills, takes HSA/FSA cards and offers a discovery call. It lists hormonal health, gut health and sleep reset programs.
This Houston functional medicine practice names one physician, Yong Sik Kim, M.D., Ph.D., whose Texas M.D. licence shows as active with no public actions. It says it offers a discovery call and lists services including ozone therapy, chelation and detox therapy, and stem cell therapy. Conditions on its site include chronic fatigue, metabolic syndrome and gut health.
One of only 5 of the 19 practices we list in Houston whose telehealth covers Texas, this practice also lists New York. Its site names MD, NP and PA clinicians, and Texas records show active licences with no public actions for Monisha Shah, MD and Janine Cooper, PA-C. Listed conditions include gut dysfunction, thyroid imbalance, perimenopause and PCOS.
The Hayden Institute is one of 3 of the 19 Houston practices we list with a DC credential, and its site lists chiropractic care, acupuncture and clinical nutrition. It says it provides superbills rather than billing insurance, and that it is accepting new patients. Among the 11 conditions it lists are Hashimoto's autoimmune thyroiditis, fatigue, menopause and infertility.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2014
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Huemn is one of 5 of the 19 Houston practices we list that name an NP credential, alongside an MD, and one APRN's Texas licence was checked as current. It says it offers membership or per-visit care and a free discovery call, with no telehealth listed. Conditions on its site include menopause symptoms and hormonal imbalance.
Adults ever diagnosed with depression, by tract:≤18.7%18.7–19.5%19.5–20.3%20.3–21.3%>21.3%practice (rank)
Where need is highest vs. where practices are
Depression prevalence for each of 652 census tracts in Houston (CDC PLACES), with the ranked practices on top.
Sources: CDC PLACES (2022–2023 survey data); County Health Rankings 2025; HRSA shortage areas; CMS Doctors & Clinicians; Census ACS 5-year. Checked October 2026.
How much does functional medicine cost in Houston?
Houston practices that publish prices charge $350–$698 for a first visit (median $488) and $175–$500 for follow-ups. Only 4 of 19 practices publish a first-visit price, so ask any practice for its current fees.
What you pay for
Houston range
Median
Practices reporting
First visitInitial consultation, as each practice names it
$350–$698
$488
4 of 19
Follow-up visitPer visit, where priced separately
$175–$500
$298
3 of 19
Featured partner: Parsley Health telehealth membershipFrom the partner's published pricing; not a listed practice
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
—
Published price
From prices published by the practices we list, as each practice names its visits; checked October 2026. Insurance may cover visits and standard labs; ask each practice. Compare prices across all cities →
What Houston practices treat most often
Conditions listed on practice websites, out of 19 practices.
Local search demand and how many practices serve it.
870
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in Houston
Semrush, September 2026
#12
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
0.8
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population
How to choose a functional medicine doctor in Houston
01
Decide how you'll pay first
Of the 19 Houston practices we list, 0 say they bill insurance for visits. 5 say they provide superbills only, 5 are cash-only, and 9 don't state their insurance policy. Only 4 publish a first-visit price, ranging from $350 to $698 with a median of $488. Ask for the full cost before booking.
02
Check licences, not the label
"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Houston practices list MD (13), NP (5), PA (4), DC (3), DO (1) and ND (1) credentials. 2 practices self-report IFMCP certification, which we haven't confirmed with the Institute. Look up each clinician with the Texas state board.
03
Ask which lab tests cost extra
8 Houston practices name lab tests on their sites. Genetic testing is named by 5, food sensitivity testing by 4, and cortisol, heavy metals and micronutrient testing by 3 each. Ask which tests are included in visit fees, which are billed separately, and what each one costs.
04
Confirm telehealth licensing for your state
11 Houston practices say they offer telehealth. 5 list Texas among the states they serve, and 6 don't name any states. If you live outside Houston or Texas, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state before a video visit.
Houston vs. all the cities we list
Metric
Houston
All listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits
0%
9%
Practices offering telehealth
58%
57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)
11%
11%
Median published first-visit price
$488
$438
Functional medicine in Houston: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in Houston?
Our Houston directory lists 19 functional medicine practices, with data updated October 2026. The top-scored on our published rubric are KALE Functional Medicine (8.1), Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness (7.4) and Your Wellness Practice (6.7). The rubric weighs credentials, transparency, access, breadth and data completeness, and partners never affect scores.
Does insurance cover functional medicine in Houston?
We can't say what any plan covers, but none of the 19 Houston practices say they bill insurance for visits. 5 say they provide superbills only, which you may submit to your insurer yourself. 5 say they are cash only, and 9 don't state their insurance policy. Ask your plan directly about reimbursement.
How much does a functional medicine visit cost in Houston?
Published first-visit prices in Houston run from $350 to $698, with a median of $488, across the 4 practices that publish them. Follow-up visits range from $175 to $500, with a median of $298, from 3 practices. One practice, Memorial Longevity Clinic, publishes a $149 per month membership. Prices are self-reported by each practice.
Are the functional medicine practitioners in Houston medical doctors?
Many are, by their own listings. 13 of the 19 Houston practices list an MD, 5 list an NP, 4 a PA, 3 a DC, 1 a DO and 1 an ND. These credentials are self-reported. Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence, so confirm any clinician's licence with the Texas state board.
Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in Texas?
Yes, some practices say they offer it. 5 Houston practices that say they offer telehealth list Texas on their sites. Of the 11 practices offering telehealth, 0 name other states only and 6 don't name any states. Before a video visit, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in Texas, or check with the state board.
Do functional medicine practices in Houston charge a membership fee?
Some do. 2 of the 19 Houston practices use a membership model, and 1 publishes its fee. Memorial Longevity Clinic lists $149 per month for what it calls a concierge medicine membership with direct physician access and priority appointment scheduling. Other practices don't publish a membership fee, so ask each one directly.
Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in Houston?
At some practices, yes. 5 of the 19 Houston practices say they accept HSA or FSA cards. That reflects what those practices say they accept, not what your account will treat as an eligible expense. Check with your HSA or FSA administrator and the practice before you pay.
Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in Houston name?
8 Houston practices name lab tests on their sites. The most often named are genetic testing (5 practices), food sensitivity testing (4), cortisol or adrenal testing (3), heavy metals testing (3), micronutrient testing (3) and the GI-MAP stool test (2). These come from each practice's own website and are self-reported.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.