Compare 11 functional medicine practices in Austin by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.
Functional Medicine Index lists 11 functional medicine practices in Austin, Texas. 4 say they bill insurance for visits, 4 list superbills only, and 6 say they offer telehealth. 2 practices publish a first-visit price. West Holistic Medicine (8.0) is top-scored by our rubric, followed by Your Functional Health (7.7).
Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert12 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 11 practices checked against NPI records, Texas licence records (4 checked against state open data) and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for Austin, TX
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Compare Austin functional medicine practices
All 11 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
The best functional medicine doctors in Austin, ranked
#1
West Holistic Medicine
Austin
MD + DOSuperbillTelehealth
This practice is one of only 2 of the 11 practices we list in Austin that publish a first-visit price: its Initial Visit is $575 for up to 75 minutes, with a $185/month membership. It lists MD, DO and NP credentials, says it provides superbills and accepts Medicare, and offers telehealth in Texas. Listed conditions include PCOS, Hashimoto's and mold toxicity.
One of only 2 of the 11 practices we list in Austin that publish a first-visit price, it lists a New Patient Appointment at $500, with follow-ups at $325. It names one nurse practitioner, says it is in network with UnitedHealthcare and provides superbills, and offers telehealth in Texas. Conditions listed include Hashimoto's, PCOS, perimenopause and chronic fatigue.
This Austin functional medicine practice is cash only and publishes its follow-up price: $150 a consult, plus monthly supplement costs, it says. It lists the DC credential, telehealth, HSA/FSA card payment and a free 10-minute discovery call, and says it accepts new patients. Listed conditions include perimenopause and menopause, gut microbiome and digestion, anxiety, and sleep issues.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
$150 each
Discovery call
Free, 10 min
Licence status
Check with Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2013
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
MDIFMCP · self-reportedIn-networkTelehealthAccepting new patients
Resilient Health is the only one of the 11 Austin practices we list with a self-reported IFMCP clinician, and one of 4 that bill insurance. It says it is in-network on a membership model, and 4 of its 5 named MDs hold active Texas licences with no public actions. It lists telehealth, Spanish, and conditions such as mold, hormone health and cognitive health.
Caim Chiropractic + Functional Medicine is one of 4 of the 11 Austin practices we list whose telehealth covers Texas, and it also lists California. It lists the DC credential and says it provides superbills rather than billing insurance, accepts HSA/FSA cards and doesn't accept Medicare. Conditions it lists include IBS and bloating, food sensitivities and difficulty conceiving.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free, 15 min
Licence status
Check with Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2022
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:GI-MAP stool testDUTCH hormones
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Austin MFC is one of 4 of the 11 practices we list in Austin that bill insurance for visits, and it says it is in-network with Aetna, BlueCross BlueShield and Cigna. Its site names an MD and an APRN, FNP-C, and it lists a per-visit model. Listed conditions include chronic fatigue, hormone imbalances, digestive concerns and metabolic health.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
2011
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board · Texas Board of Nursing
One of only 4 of the 11 practices we list in Austin that bill insurance, Austin Quan Yin says it is in-network with Aetna, BlueCross BlueShield, UnitedHealthcare and others. Two of its three named clinicians have active Texas licences with no public actions. It lists acupuncture and cupping, and conditions including digestive problems, thyroid problems and anxiety.
This is one of 4 of the 11 Austin practices we list that bill insurance for visits. It says it is in-network and offers a free discovery call. Its named clinician, Jeffrey R. Ulery, lists a DC credential, so confirm his licence with the Texas board. Conditions it lists include pain, allergies, stress and headaches & migraines.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Check with Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
One of only 2 of the 11 practices we list in Austin to list a DO credential, this practice also lists MD and names Wally Taylor, MD. It says it offers telehealth in Texas, one of 4 Austin practices that do, and sees all ages. Conditions listed include Lyme disease, toxic mold exposure and long-haul COVID.
One of 3 of the 11 Austin practices we list showing an NP credential, it names April Bullock, CPM, RN, FNP-C, and says it sees all ages in English and Spanish. It lists a 90-minute first visit and says it provides superbills. Listed conditions include fertility support, autoimmune conditions and chronic fatigue.
Adults ever diagnosed with depression, by tract:≤21.6%21.6–22.5%22.5–23.2%23.2–24.4%>24.4%practice (rank)
Where need is highest vs. where practices are
Depression prevalence for each of 218 census tracts in Austin (CDC PLACES), with the ranked practices on top.
Sources: CDC PLACES (2022–2023 survey data); County Health Rankings 2025; HRSA shortage areas; CMS Doctors & Clinicians; Census ACS 5-year. Checked October 2026.
How much does functional medicine cost in Austin?
$150–$325 for follow-ups. Only 2 of 11 practices publish a first-visit price, so ask any practice for its current fees.
What you pay for
Austin range
Median
Practices reporting
Follow-up visitPer visit, where priced separately
$150–$325
$250
3 of 11
Featured partner: Parsley Health telehealth membershipFrom the partner's published pricing; not a listed practice
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
—
Published price
From prices published by the practices we list, as each practice names its visits; checked October 2026. Insurance may cover visits and standard labs; ask each practice. Compare prices across all cities →
What Austin practices treat most often
Conditions listed on practice websites, out of 11 practices.
Local search demand and how many practices serve it.
980
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in Austin
Semrush, September 2026
#9
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
1.1
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population
How to choose a functional medicine doctor in Austin
01
Decide how you will pay
Of the 11 Austin practices we list, 4 say they bill insurance for visits, 4 offer superbills only, 1 is cash only and 2 don't say. Three publish follow-up prices, from $150 to $325. Ask how you would pay before you book.
02
Check licences, not the label
"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. In Austin, 5 practices list DCs, 4 list MDs, 3 list NPs and 2 list DOs. One practice reports IFMCP certification, which we haven't confirmed. Check each clinician's licence with the Texas state board.
03
Ask what lab tests cost
Four Austin practices name lab tests on their sites. Mycotoxin testing is named by 3, and DUTCH hormones and heavy metals testing by 2 each. Ask which tests are included in a visit or membership fee and which are billed separately.
04
Confirm licensing for telehealth visits
Six Austin practices say they offer telehealth. Four list Texas among the states they serve, and 2 don't name states. If you live outside Austin, ask the clinician to confirm they are licensed in your state before a video visit.
Austin vs. all the cities we list
Metric
Austin
All listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits
36%
9%
Practices offering telehealth
55%
57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)
9%
11%
Functional medicine in Austin: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in Austin?
We list 11 functional medicine practices in Austin, Texas, as of our October 2026 update. None of them are hospital-affiliated programs. Prices, insurance, telehealth and credentials on each listing come from the practice's own website and are labelled self-reported.
Does insurance cover functional medicine in Austin?
We can't say what any plan covers, but we can report what practices say. Of the 11 Austin practices, 4 say they bill insurance for visits, 4 say they provide superbills only, 1 says it is cash only, and 2 don't state an insurance policy. Check with your plan and the practice before booking.
How much does a functional medicine visit cost in Austin?
Follow-up visits in Austin run from $150 to $325 among the 3 practices that publish a follow-up price, with a median of $250. Two practices publish a first-visit price on their sites. Two publish membership fees: West Holistic Medicine lists $185/month and Your Functional Health lists $129/month, charged annually at $1,548. All prices are self-reported.
Are the functional medicine practitioners in Austin medical doctors?
Some are. Practices list these credentials: DC at 5 practices, MD at 4, NP at 3 and DO at 2. These are self-reported. "Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence; practitioners hold their own licences. Each profile shows clinicians we matched to NPI records and licence status where we have it. Confirm a clinician's licence with the Texas state board.
Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in Texas?
Yes, some Austin practices say they offer telehealth. Of the 6 that say they offer it, 4 list Texas, 0 name other states only, and 2 don't name any states. Telehealth coverage is what practices say on their sites, so ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in Texas before a video visit.
Do functional medicine practices in Austin charge a membership fee?
A few do. One Austin practice uses a membership model, and 2 publish membership fees. West Holistic Medicine lists a Direct Primary Care Monthly Membership at $185/month. Your Functional Health lists a 12-month membership at $129/month, charged annually at $1,548. These fees are self-reported by each practice.
Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in Austin?
Some practices say you can. Of the 11 Austin practices, 4 say they accept HSA or FSA cards. That is what the practices say they accept, not a rule about eligibility. Check with your HSA or FSA administrator about whether a specific service qualifies under your account.
Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in Austin name?
Four Austin practices name lab tests on their sites. Mycotoxin testing is named by 3 practices. DUTCH hormones and heavy metals testing are each named by 2. Food sensitivity testing, a Functional Lab Panel with Review, and genetic testing are each named by 1 practice. These are self-reported.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.