Functional Medicine Index
Condition guide

Functional medicine for diabetes & blood sugar

Functional medicine practices that list diabetes & blood sugar on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.

61
Practices listing it
Of 264 we list
19
Cities
With a practice listing it
24%
In-network for visits
Of 34 that state it
Updated October 2026Jump to the practices →
The short answer

61 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention diabetes & blood sugar on their own websites. The 11 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $575 ($295–$3,600). 8 of the 34 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: West Holistic Medicine, Your Functional Health and Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert3 data sources, cited belowHow we rank →
Conditions are as each practice lists them on its own website. A practice listing a condition isn't evidence that a treatment works.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for diabetes & blood sugar
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Parsley Health says it treats metabolic health concerns including Weight gain or resistance, insulin resistance, prediabetes, type 2 diabetes, metabolic syndrome, GLP-1 support and unexplained fatigue, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.

Condition care
Metabolic Health, per Parsley Health
Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Where practices list diabetes & blood sugar

CityPractices listing itOf practices listed
New York826
Denver617
San Diego521
Austin511
Boise511
Los Angeles411
San Antonio38
Charlotte29
Raleigh29
Omaha28
Atlanta26
Lakewood25
Cary24
Centennial23
Houston119
Nashville13
Durham12
Apex11
Carlsbad11
Other areas6—

Top-scored practices that list diabetes & blood sugar

Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Parsley HealthPartner
Telehealth · all 50 states
Not reportedNot reportedIn-network nationwide, per partnerYes · all 50 statesMembership$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-payNot reported—Not scored
West Holistic Medicine
Austin
MD, DO, NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · 11 statesMembership or per visit$575Not reportedSee profile8.0
Your Functional Health
Austin
NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · TXMembership or per visit$500Not reportedSee profile7.7
Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina
Chapel Hill
MD, NPNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$400YesSee profile7.6
Root Causes Medical Clinic
San Antonio
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Ann Shippy MD
Austin
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$3,600Not reportedSee profile7.3
Carolina Total Wellness
Raleigh
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$965Not reportedSee profile7.3
Dr. Alexandra Shustina
New York
DONot reportedSuperbillYes · NY, NJ, FLPer visit$1,500YesSee profile7.3
Optimal Health Medicine Center
Charlotte
MDYes · self-reportedSuperbillYes · NC, SCNot reportedNot reportedYesSee profile7.0
Dr. Robin Mayfield, DC, ACN
Austin
DCNot reportedCash onlyYesPer visitNot reportedYesSee profile6.9
Resilient Health
Austin
MDYes · self-reportedIn-networkYesMembershipNot reportedYesSee profile6.9

Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

Tests these practices name most often

Named on the websites of the 61 practices that list diabetes & blood sugar.

  • Food sensitivity testing19 of 61
  • Heavy metals testing16 of 61
  • Stool testing15 of 61
  • Cortisol / adrenal testing14 of 61
  • Genetic testing14 of 61
  • Micronutrient testing11 of 61

Functional medicine for diabetes & blood sugar: common questions

How many functional medicine practices list diabetes & blood sugar?

61 of the 264 practices we list name diabetes & blood sugar on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.

Do functional medicine practices that list diabetes & blood sugar take insurance?

8 of the 61 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 16 provide a superbill instead and 10 are cash only. 27 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list diabetes & blood sugar?

11 practices publish a first-visit price: median $575, from $295 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.

What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list diabetes & blood sugar have?

"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (29), NP (22), DC (17), ND (13) and DO (10).

Do these practices offer telehealth?

43 of the 61 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.

Which lab tests do practices that list diabetes & blood sugar name on their sites?

The tests named most often by practices that list diabetes & blood sugar are Food sensitivity testing (19), Heavy metals testing (16), Stool testing (15) and Cortisol / adrenal testing (14). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.

Can I talk to a practice before booking?

26 of the 61 offer a discovery call before the first visit (23 say it's free).

Are these practices accepting new patients?

11 of the 61 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 10 of these 61 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.