21 Best Functional Medicine Doctors in San Diego, CA
Compare 21 functional medicine practices in San Diego by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.
San Diego has 21 functional medicine practices in our directory. 1 says it bills insurance, 8 say superbills only, and 13 list telehealth. 4 publish a first-visit price: median $410, range $390 to $595. Top-scored by our rubric are Moonstone Naturopathic (7.7), Integrative Health Solutions (7.3), and EmpowerMed Clinic and Orchard Integrative Medicine, tied at 7.2.
Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert10 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 21 practices checked against NPI records, links to the California licensing boards and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for San Diego, CA
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Compare San Diego functional medicine practices
All 21 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
The best functional medicine doctors in San Diego, ranked
#1
Moonstone Naturopathic
San Diego
NDTelehealth
Moonstone Naturopathic publishes a $390, 90-minute first visit, matching the lowest of the 4 first-visit prices published in San Diego (median $410). Brandy McGill, ND, MS, is the named clinician. The practice says it is cash only, takes HSA/FSA cards and offers California telehealth and a free discovery call, and it lists thyroid health and PCOS/PMOS among its conditions.
First visit
90 min
Follow-ups
$222 each
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
NPI record since
2015
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:Thyroid testingMicronutrient testing
Verified October 2026Licence: California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
One of 4 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that publish a first-visit price, this La Jolla practice lists $595 for a 60-minute first visit, against a $410 median. It names an NMD and a DPT, says it provides superbills, offers telehealth and doesn't accept Medicare. Listed conditions include IBS and SIBO, thyroid concerns and brain fog.
First visit
60 min
Follow-ups
$250–$475 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
EmpowerMed Clinic is one of 6 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that offer telehealth in California. It lists the ND credential, says it provides superbills and accepts HSA/FSA cards, and offers a free discovery call. Conditions named on its site include hormone imbalance, PCOS, perimenopause, and gut health & digestion.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
One of only 4 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that publish a first-visit price: $425 for a 60-minute New Patient Visit, against a city median of $410. Its named clinician lists ND, MA and LPCC credentials. It says it provides superbills, offers telehealth and a free 15-minute discovery call, and lists mental health conditions and gastrointestinal health.
First visit
60 min
Follow-ups
$185 each
Discovery call
Free, 15 min
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
NPI record since
2019
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
One of 4 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that publish a first-visit price: $395 for a 60-minute in-office consultation, against a $410 city median. This MD practice says it uses superbills rather than billing insurance, takes HSA/FSA cards and offers telehealth in California. It lists 12 conditions, including migraine, perimenopause and sleep issues.
First visit
60 min
Follow-ups
$385 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
BioMed Health Center in La Jolla is one of 6 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that offer telehealth in California. It lists MD and ND credentials, says it provides superbills and accepts HSA/FSA cards, and offers a free 15-minute discovery call. Conditions it lists include fatigue, menopause and thyroid disorders.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free, 15 min
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
NPI record since
2018
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:GI-MAP stool testHormone testing
Verified October 2026Licence: California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
One of only 3 of the 21 San Diego practices we list with an NP credential, this La Jolla practice also lists an MD and publishes a 12-month concierge membership starting at $5,400 annually ($450/mo). It says it provides superbills, accepts HSA/FSA cards and offers telehealth in Colorado. Listed conditions include fatigue, cognitive decline and weight loss.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
Pacific Pearl La Jolla is the only one of the 21 practices we list in San Diego that lists a DO, alongside MD, NP and ND credentials. It lists a membership model, provides superbills rather than billing insurance, says it offers telehealth and lists a 90-minute first visit. Conditions it lists include heart disease, diabetes and Hashimoto's.
First visit
90 min
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
Advanced Functional Medicine lists MD, NP, ND and DC credentials on its site; of the 21 San Diego practices we list, only 3 name an NP and 6 an MD. It says it offers telehealth and a free 10-minute discovery call, lists Spanish, and names conditions including thyroid issues, menopause, ADHD and digestive disorders.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free, 10 min
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
Mosaic Integrative Medicine says it offers telehealth, as do 13 of the 21 San Diego practices we list, plus a free 15-minute discovery call. Its site names Elizabeth Winter, ND, CPM; confirm her California licence with the state board. It lists 21 conditions on its site, including infertility, autoimmune disease and add/adhd.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free, 15 min
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
Adults ever diagnosed with depression, by tract:≤19%19–20.6%20.6–21.6%21.6–23.2%>23.2%practice (rank)
Where need is highest vs. where practices are
Depression prevalence for each of 322 census tracts in San Diego (CDC PLACES), with the ranked practices on top.
Sources: CDC PLACES (2022–2023 survey data); County Health Rankings 2025; HRSA shortage areas; CMS Doctors & Clinicians; Census ACS 5-year. Checked October 2026.
How much does functional medicine cost in San Diego?
San Diego practices that publish prices charge $390–$595 for a first visit (median $410) and $185–$475 for follow-ups. Only 4 of 21 practices publish a first-visit price, so ask any practice for its current fees.
What you pay for
San Diego range
Median
Practices reporting
First visitInitial consultation, as each practice names it
$390–$595
$410
4 of 21
Follow-up visitPer visit, where priced separately
$185–$475
$236
4 of 21
Featured partner: Parsley Health telehealth membershipFrom the partner's published pricing; not a listed practice
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
—
Published price
From prices published by the practices we list, as each practice names its visits; checked October 2026. Insurance may cover visits and standard labs; ask each practice. Compare prices across all cities →
What San Diego practices treat most often
Conditions listed on practice websites, out of 21 practices.
Local search demand and how many practices serve it.
1,300
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in San Diego
Semrush, September 2026
#6
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
1.5
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population
How to choose a functional medicine doctor in San Diego
01
Decide how you'll pay first
Of 21 San Diego practices, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 8 list superbills only, 2 are cash only and 10 don't say. Only 4 publish a first-visit price, ranging from $390 to $595. Ask for the total cost before you book.
02
Check licences, not the label
Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence. San Diego practices list ND (14), MD (6), DC (5), NP (3) and DO (1) credentials, and none self-report IFMCP. Confirm each clinician's licence with the California state board before booking.
03
Ask how lab tests are billed
14 practices name lab tests, most often food sensitivity testing and genetic testing (7 practices each). Ask whether tests are included in the visit price or billed separately, and request a written estimate for any panel before it is ordered.
04
Confirm telehealth licensing for your state
13 practices say they offer telehealth. Of those, 6 list California, 1 lists other states only and 6 don't name states. If you live outside San Diego, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state before a video visit.
San Diego vs. all the cities we list
Metric
San Diego
All listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits
5%
9%
Practices offering telehealth
62%
57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)
0%
11%
Median published first-visit price
$410
$438
Functional medicine in San Diego: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in San Diego?
Our directory lists 21 functional medicine practices in San Diego, with data updated October 2026. Of these, 13 say they offer telehealth and 3 use a membership model. We also note 3 hospital-affiliated programs: Positive Choice at Kaiser Permanente, Scripps Center for Integrative Medicine and Centers for Integrative Health.
Does insurance cover functional medicine in San Diego?
We can't say what any plan covers, so check with your insurer. We can report what practices say. Of 21 San Diego practices, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 8 say they provide superbills only, and 2 say they are cash only. The other 10 don't state an insurance policy on their sites.
How much does a functional medicine visit cost in San Diego?
Published first-visit prices in San Diego run from $390 to $595, with a median of $410, based on 4 practices that publish them. Follow-up prices from 4 practices run from $185 to $475, with a median of $236. Two membership practices also publish fees. Prices are self-reported from practice websites.
Are the functional medicine practitioners in San Diego medical doctors?
Some are. Practices self-report these credentials: ND at 14 practices, MD at 6, DC at 5, NP at 3 and DO at 1. A practice can list more than one. "Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Practitioners hold their own licences, so confirm a clinician's status with the state board.
Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in California?
Yes, some practices say they offer it. Of 13 San Diego practices that say they offer telehealth, 6 list California. 1 names other states only, and 6 don't name states. Telehealth coverage is what practices say on their sites. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in California before a video visit.
Do functional medicine practices in San Diego charge a membership fee?
Some do. 3 San Diego practices use a membership model, and 2 publish fees. Regenerative Medicine lists a 12-month concierge membership starting at $5,400 annually ($450/mo). Prime Wellness lists $199/month. Fees are self-reported from each practice's website.
Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in San Diego?
Some practices say you can. 6 of 21 San Diego practices say they accept HSA or FSA cards. That reflects what practices say they accept, not whether a given service qualifies under your account. Check with your plan administrator and the practice before paying.
Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in San Diego name?
14 San Diego practices name lab tests on their sites. The most named are food sensitivity testing and genetic testing (7 practices each), heavy metals testing and micronutrient testing (5 each), and hormone testing and stool testing (4 each). These are self-reported listings from practice websites.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.