Functional Medicine Index
Verified October 6, 2026

EmpowerMed Clinic, San Diego

ND-led functional medicine practice in San Diego, CA

NDSuperbillTelehealthAccepting new patients

Location and hours

Live from Google
Address
16476 Bernardo Center Drive Suite 200, San Diego, CA 92128
Loading details from Google
Rating, hours and phone shown live from Google Maps. Not part of our score.
Google Map · Directions

At a glance

EmpowerMed Clinic is one of 6 of the 21 San Diego practices we list that offer telehealth in California. It lists the ND credential, says it provides superbills and accepts HSA/FSA cards, and offers a free discovery call. Conditions named on its site include hormone imbalance, PCOS, perimenopause, and gut health & digestion.

First visitNot reported
Follow-upsNot reported
Discovery callFree
New patientsAccepting
TelehealthYes · Yes · CA
Ages seenNot reported
LanguagesNot reported
NPI record since2019

Insurance and payment

Self-reported · Oct 2026
Insurance for visits
Superbill
Medicare
Not reported
Medicaid
Not reported
HSA / FSA cards
Accepted
Practice model
Not reported

Check coverage with your plan before booking, and ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

Practitioners

As named on the practice's website.

Carleigh Golightly-Downing

Founder, Naturopathic DoctorCA licence · verify with the board

Dawna Sweeney, ND

Naturopathic DoctorND (listed on the practice's site)CA licence · verify with the board
Measured · public records

Credentials and licensure

PractitionerNPILicenceStatusLicensed since
Carleigh Golightly-Downing, ND1124669080California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search · ND1118Verify with the boardNot reported
Dawna K Sweeney, ND1811612286California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search · 1364Verify with the boardNot reported

Sources: NPPES NPI Registry, checked October 6, 2026; California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search: linked for you to verify (not checked by us). IFMCP status is self-reported.

Labs and services

Hormone testingGenetic testingHeavy metals testingMycotoxin testingInjections & IV TherapiesBioidentical hormone therapyBlood drawsComprehensive Nutritional Support

As listed on the practice's website.

How we scored EmpowerMed Clinic

Total 7.2 / 10
  • Credentials & licensure · 25%20 / 25
    2 clinicians matched to NPI records, licence linked to the state board lookup (not checked against open data) and clinicians named with credentials on its site.
  • Transparency on pricing and insurance · 25%10 / 25
    Publishes its insurance status and HSA/FSA policy; no first-visit price.
  • Access · 25%21 / 25
    Superbill for out-of-network claims, telehealth in CA, accepting new patients and free discovery call.
  • Breadth of services · 15%13 / 15
    10 conditions listed, 4 named lab tests and 4 services.
  • Data completeness · 10%8.3 / 10
    10 of 12 key fields verified.

Scores use verified data only. Partner brands can't change a rank or a score. Full methodology

Compare with nearby practices

San Diego practices ranked next to EmpowerMed Clinic

See the San Diego rankings →

EmpowerMed Clinic: common questions

Does EmpowerMed Clinic take insurance?

EmpowerMed Clinic says it provides superbills rather than billing insurance directly, and it lists no in-network carriers. The practice also says it accepts HSA/FSA cards. These details are self-reported from the practice's website. Ask your plan directly what it will reimburse before you book.

How much is a first visit at EmpowerMed Clinic?

Our data doesn't include a first-visit fee for EmpowerMed Clinic, so contact the practice for current pricing. It does list a free discovery call, which you can use to ask about visit costs and what a first appointment includes. It also says it provides superbills and accepts HSA/FSA cards.

Can I see EmpowerMed Clinic by telehealth?

EmpowerMed Clinic says it offers telehealth, and it lists California as its telehealth state. If you live elsewhere, ask the practice before booking. We have not checked the California ND licence status of its clinicians, so confirm with the state board that the clinician you see is licensed in your state.

Which lab tests does EmpowerMed Clinic offer?

EmpowerMed Clinic names these lab tests on its website: hormone testing, genetic testing, heavy metals testing and mycotoxin testing. It also lists blood draws among its services. These details are self-reported. Ask the practice how testing is ordered and what each test costs before you agree to it.

Is EmpowerMed Clinic accepting new patients?

Yes, EmpowerMed Clinic is accepting new patients, per its website. We last verified this in October 2026. Availability can change, so confirm when you contact the practice. It lists a free discovery call, which may be a simple way to check openings.

What does EmpowerMed Clinic treat?

EmpowerMed Clinic lists 10 conditions on its site; we don't report outcomes. Examples it names include weight management, gut health & digestion, fertility & preconception support, hormone imbalance, PCOS, perimenopause, fatigue and brain fog, and inflammation-related concerns. Services it lists include injections & IV therapies, bioidentical hormone therapy and comprehensive nutritional support.

Is this your practice?

Claim it to update prices, insurance and services, and get a “Featured practice” badge for your website that links to this profile.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Google Places API (New) — ratings, hours and phone, shown live and not stored

This profile is for information only and isn't medical advice or an endorsement. Confirm credentials, coverage and costs directly with the practice.