Functional Medicine Doctors in California
Every functional medicine practice we list in California, by city, with credentials, insurance and telehealth checked against public records and each practice's own website.
We list 42 practices in California, 39 in 8 cities with listings, led by San Diego (21), Los Angeles (11) and Pasadena (2). Of these, 2 say they bill insurance for visits, 11 say they provide superbills only, and 24 say they offer telehealth. The median published first-visit price is $395 (7 practices). Top-scored by our rubric: Moonstone Naturopathic (7.7), Kyra Kare Health & Wellness (7.6) and Integrative Health Solutions (7.3).
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
- Insurance
- In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
- Membership
- $150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
- HSA / FSA
- Eligible, per Parsley Health
- Medicare / Medicaid
- Not accepted
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Functional medicine in California, by city
Top-scored practices in California
The ten highest scores statewide. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile.
| Practice | Credentials | IFMCP | Insurance | Telehealth | Model | Initial visit | New patients | Google rating | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moonstone Naturopathic San Diego | ND | Not reported | Cash only | Yes · CA | Per visit | $390 | Not reported | See profile | 7.7 |
| Kyra Kare Health & Wellness Bonita | ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $350 | Not reported | See profile | 7.6 |
| Integrative Health Solutions La Jolla | ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $595 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| EmpowerMed Clinic San Diego | ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes · CA | Not reported | Not reported | Yes | See profile | 7.2 |
| Orchard Integrative Medicine San Diego | ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $425 | Not reported | See profile | 7.2 |
| Dr. Brenda Marshall, MD San Diego | MD | Not reported | Superbill | Yes · CA | Per visit | $395 | Not reported | See profile | 7.1 |
| Angel Longevity Medical Center Studio City | MD, NP | Not reported | Superbill | Yes · CA, FL | Not reported | $850 | Not reported | See profile | 6.7 |
| BioMed Health Center La Jolla | MD, ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes · CA | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | See profile | 6.5 |
| Regenerative Medicine La Jolla | MD, NP | Not reported | Superbill | Yes · CO | Membership | Not reported | Not reported | See profile | 6.4 |
| Oasis Health And Medicine Encinitas | MD, ND | Not reported | Out-of-network | Yes · CA, NM | Not reported | Not reported | Yes | See profile | 5.9 |
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. Insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
More functional medicine practices in California
Practices outside the cities with their own guide, by our score.
Functional medicine in California: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in California?
We list 42 functional medicine practices in California, as of October 2026. Of these, 39 are in the 8 cities with listings, led by San Diego (21) and Los Angeles (11), then Pasadena (2), Carlsbad (1) and Chula Vista (1). Another 3 practices are elsewhere in the state.
Do functional medicine practices in California take insurance?
A small number say they do. Of 42 California practices, 2 say they bill insurance for visits, 11 say they provide superbills only, and 3 say they are cash only. The other 22 don't state an insurance policy. Separately, 8 practices say they accept HSA/FSA cards. Confirm billing details with the practice, and ask your plan what it will reimburse.
How much does a first functional medicine visit cost in California?
Among the 7 California practices that publish a first-visit price, the median is $395, with a range of $350 to $850. Of the 6 that publish follow-up prices, the median is $204, from $75 to $475. Two publish membership fees: Prime Wellness lists $199/month, and Regenerative Medicine lists a membership starting at $5,400 annually. All prices are self-reported by the practices.
What credentials do functional medicine practitioners in California have?
Practices list a mix of licences. By number of practices: ND (25), MD (16), NP (7), DC (7), DO (5) and PA (1). Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence, so each practitioner holds their own. Credentials come from practice websites and are self-reported. Confirm a clinician's licence with the relevant California state board.
Do these practices offer telehealth?
Many say they do. Of 42 California practices, 24 say they offer telehealth. Of those, 8 list California as a state they serve, 1 names other states only, and 15 don't name states. Telehealth coverage is what practices say on their sites, so ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state before a video visit.
Can I talk to a practice before booking?
Often, yes. Of 42 California practices, 14 say they offer a discovery call before you book, and 13 of those say the call is free. This information comes from each practice's own website, so check the details and any conditions directly with the practice.
Do functional medicine practices in California see children?
At least one does. Of 42 California practices, 1 says it sees children, and only 1 publishes the ages it sees. Most practices don't state an age range on their sites, so contact a practice directly to ask whether it sees children.
Are these practices accepting new patients?
Only 2 of the 42 California practices say on their sites that they are accepting new patients. That doesn't tell you the status of the others. Contact any practice you're considering to ask whether it is currently taking new patients.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
Full methodology →Sources
- NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
- Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
- Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages
Related
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.