Functional Medicine Index
Functional medicine directory · California

1 Best Functional Medicine Doctors in Santa Monica, CA

Compare 1 functional medicine practices in Santa Monica by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.

1
Practices listed
Verified October 2026
0
Bill insurance
In-network for visits, self-reported
1
Offer telehealth
Self-reported by practices
0
IFMCP-certified
Self-reported by practices
The short answer

1 functional medicine practices are listed in Santa Monica. none bill insurance for visits and 1 says it offers telehealth. Top-scored by our rubric: The Akasha Center for Integrative Medicine.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert4 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 1 practices checked against NPI records, links to the California licensing boards and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.

Filter practices

Filter practices

Sort practices

Sort practices
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for Santa Monica, CA
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.

Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Compare Santa Monica functional medicine practices

All 1 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.

Showing 1 of 1 · sorted by our score

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
The Akasha Center for Integrative Medicine
MD, DO, NP, ND, PANot reportedOut-of-networkYesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile3.1

Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

The best functional medicine doctors in Santa Monica, ranked

#1

The Akasha Center for Integrative Medicine

Santa Monica
MD + DOTelehealth

The Akasha Center for Integrative Medicine is the only practice we list in Santa Monica. It lists MD, DO, NP, ND and PA credentials, says it is out-of-network for insurance and says it offers telehealth, without naming states. 3 clinicians are matched to NPI records; confirm any licence with the California state board.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
NPI record since
2007
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: California Department of Consumer Affairs licence search
Our score
3.1
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Yes

Also serving Santa Monica

Practices just outside the city limits, nearest first. They aren't ranked on this page; each has its own profile.

Where the practices are

1Approximate positions · pins link to cards

Is functional medicine popular in Santa Monica?

Local search demand and how many practices serve it.

1.1
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population

How to choose a functional medicine doctor in Santa Monica

  1. Decide how you want to pay first

    0 of 1 Santa Monica practices say they bill insurance for visits. Use the "Accepts insurance" filter, and ask any practice how it bills before booking.

  2. Check the licence, not just the title

    "Functional medicine" isn't a licence. Credentials listed on the 1 practices' websites, by number of practices: MD (1), DO (1), NP (1), ND (1) and PA (1). Each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records and, where we have it, their California licence status or a link to the board's lookup.

  3. Ask which labs are included

    0 of 1 practices name specialty tests on their sites. Ask whether tests are billed to insurance, priced separately, or included in a membership before you book.

  4. Use telehealth if you're outside the city

    1 of 1 practices here says it offers telehealth. Before a video visit, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in California.

Santa Monica vs. all the cities we list

MetricSanta MonicaAll listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits0%9%
Practices offering telehealth100%57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)0%11%

Functional medicine in Santa Monica: common questions

Does insurance cover functional medicine in Santa Monica?

0 of the 1 practices we list in Santa Monica say they bill insurance for office visits. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately before testing.

Are the functional medicine practitioners in Santa Monica medical doctors?

Some are. "Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the 1 practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (1), DO (1), NP (1), ND (1) and PA (1). Each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records.

Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in California?

1 of the 1 Santa Monica practices says it offers telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in California before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. No practice here reports it yet; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

How we rank

Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.

Full methodology →

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Google Places API (New) — ratings, hours and phone, shown live and not stored
  4. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

More cities and guides

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.