Functional Medicine Index
Functional medicine directory · Bexar County

8 Best Functional Medicine Doctors in San Antonio, TX

Compare 8 functional medicine practices in San Antonio by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.

8
Practices listed
Verified October 2026
1
Bill insurance
In-network for visits, self-reported
5
Offer telehealth
Self-reported by practices
4
IFMCP-certified
Self-reported by practices
The short answer

San Antonio, Texas has 8 functional medicine practices in our index. Of these, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 2 list superbills only, and 5 say they offer telehealth; 2 publish a first-visit price. Top-scored by our rubric are Prime Vitality Care (8.8), Root Causes Medical Clinic (7.6) and Integrative Family Medicine (6.7).

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert12 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 8 practices checked against NPI records, Texas licence records (6 checked against state open data) and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.

Filter practices

Filter practices

Sort practices

Sort practices
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for San Antonio, TX
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.

Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Compare San Antonio functional medicine practices

All 8 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.

Showing 8 of 8 · sorted by our score

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Prime Vitality Care
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesMembership or per visit$349Not reportedSee profile8.8
Root Causes Medical Clinic
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Integrative Family Medicine
MD, PAYes · self-reportedSuperbillYes · TXNot reportedNot reportednoSee profile6.7
Harlandale Clinic
MD, NP, PANot reportedIn-networkYesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile5.8
Modern Functional Medicine Center
MD, DCYes · self-reportedNot reportedYesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile5.7
New Wellness
MD, NPNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile4.1
Institute for Peak Health
NPNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedMembershipNot reportedNot reportedSee profile3.6
San Antonio Family Integrative Health
MD, DCYes · self-reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedYesSee profile2.3

Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

The best functional medicine doctors in San Antonio, ranked

#1

Prime Vitality Care

San Antonio
MDSuperbillTelehealth

One of only 2 of the 8 San Antonio practices here that publish a first-visit price: $349 for an Initial Root-Cause Consult, $199 for follow-ups. Shiv Kumar Goel, MD has an active Texas licence with no public actions. It says it offers telehealth, superbills and a free 30-minute discovery call, and lists chronic fatigue, IBS/SIBO and thyroid disorders.

First visit
60 min
Follow-ups
$199 each
Discovery call
Free, 30 min
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
2010
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:GI-MAP stool testDUTCH hormonesOrganic acids (OAT)Food sensitivity testingHeavy metals testing100+ Biomarker Panel
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board
Our score
8.8
Initial visit
$349
Telehealth
Yes
#2

Root Causes Medical Clinic

San Antonio
MD + NPIFMCP · self-reportedTelehealth

Root Causes Medical Clinic is the only one of the 8 San Antonio practices we list that names an ND, and one of 2 publishing a first-visit price ($600 intake screening with a nurse practitioner). It says it is cash only and membership-based, with telehealth and a free discovery call. Its site lists lupus, thyroid issues and eczema.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
2003
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board · Texas Board of Nursing
Our score
7.6
Initial visit
$600
Telehealth
Yes
#3

Integrative Family Medicine

San Antonio
MD + PAIFMCP · self-reportedSuperbillTelehealth

Integrative Family Medicine is the only one of the 8 San Antonio practices we list that lists telehealth for Texas. It lists MD and PA credentials, provides superbills rather than billing insurance, and says it doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. Its site lists gut health, hormonal health and autoimmune disease; it says it isn't accepting new patients.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
1993
Ages · languages
14 and up
Labs offered:GI-MAP stool testCortisol / adrenal testingLipid testingGenetic testing
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board
Our score
6.7
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Yes · TX
#4

Harlandale Clinic

San Antonio
MD + NPIn-networkTelehealth

Harlandale Clinic is the only one of the 8 practices we list in San Antonio that bills insurance for visits. It says it is in-network but names no carriers. Its site lists MD, NP and PA clinicians, says it offers telehealth and sees all ages, and lists conditions such as hormone imbalances, diabetes and arthritis.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
2007
Ages · languages
All ages
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board
Our score
5.8
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Yes
#5

Modern Functional Medicine Center

San Antonio
MD + DCIFMCP · self-reportedTelehealth

Modern Functional Medicine Center is one of only 2 of the 8 San Antonio practices we list that name a DC credential, alongside an MD. Its site names Bronwen Martin, DC, IFMCP, and Andy Martin, MD. It says it offers telehealth and a free discovery call, and lists conditions including Hashimoto's, PCOS, menopause and eczema.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
2006
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:Thyroid testingFood sensitivity testingStool testingHeavy metals testingMicronutrient testingCortisol / adrenal testing
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners · Texas Medical Board
Our score
5.7
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Yes
#6

New Wellness

San Antonio
MD + NP

New Wellness is one of 4 of the 8 practices we list in San Antonio that list an NP credential, and its MD's Texas licence is listed as active with no public actions. It lists a free discovery call, plus peptide therapy and medically supervised weight loss. Conditions on its site include thyroid, chronic fatigue and hormonal imbalances.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
ACTIVE · no public actions
Licensed since
1986
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: Texas Medical Board
Our score
4.1
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Not reported
#7

Institute for Peak Health

San Antonio
NP

This San Antonio membership practice is one of 4 of the 8 practices we list in the city with an NP credential, naming Stephanie Thomas, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, on its site. It says it offers a free discovery call. It lists conditions including hormonal imbalances, digestive issues, weight management concerns and cardiovascular wellness.

First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Free
Licence status
Not reported
NPI record since
2007
Ages · languages
Not reported
Labs offered:GI-MAP stool testFood sensitivity testingHormone testing
Verified October 2026
Our score
3.6
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Not reported
#8

San Antonio Family Integrative Health

San Antonio
MD + DCIFMCP · self-reportedAccepting new patients

San Antonio Family Integrative Health is one of 2 of the 8 practices we list in San Antonio that list a DC credential, alongside MD. Its site names one clinician, J. Lara Sweeney, DC IFMCP, and lists 13 conditions, including Hashimoto’s/autoimmune hypothyroid, eczema, Lyme disease and mold exposure illnesses. It says it is accepting new patients.

Verified October 2026
Our score
2.3
Initial visit
Not reported
Telehealth
Not reported

Also serving San Antonio

Practices just outside the city limits, nearest first. They aren't ranked on this page; each has its own profile.

Where the practices are

12345678Approximate positions · pins link to cards
Measured · public health data

Health in San Antonio

Share of San Antonio adults (crude prevalence), plus access to care in San Antonio and its county.

22.4%
Ever diagnosed with depression
17.2%
Frequent mental distress
41.5%
Short sleep (under 7 hours)
33.6%
High cholesterol
34.9%
Obesity
15.2%
Diabetes
24.5%
Uninsured, ages 18–64

Access to care

Residents per primary-care physicianCounty Health Rankings 2025, Bexar County
1,359 : 1
Residents per mental-health providerCounty Health Rankings 2025, Bexar County
404 : 1
Primary-care shortage areasHRSA HPSA designations
244 designations in the county
Mental-health shortage areasHRSA HPSA designations
null designations in the county
Medicare clinicians offering telehealthCMS Doctors & Clinicians
2,068
Median household incomeCensus ACS 5-year
$65,056

Daily life and coverage

Food insecurityCDC PLACES social needs
Not reported
Feel lonely or isolatedCDC PLACES social needs
Not reported
Uninsured (all ages)Census ACS 5-year
17.6%
12345678
Adults ever diagnosed with depression, by tract:≤21.2%21.2–21.9%21.9–22.6%22.6–23.5%>23.5%practice (rank)

Where need is highest vs. where practices are

Depression prevalence for each of 290 census tracts in San Antonio (CDC PLACES), with the ranked practices on top.

Sources: CDC PLACES (2022–2023 survey data); County Health Rankings 2025; HRSA shortage areas; CMS Doctors & Clinicians; Census ACS 5-year. Checked October 2026.

What San Antonio practices treat most often

Conditions listed on practice websites, out of 8 practices.

Is functional medicine popular in San Antonio?

Local search demand and how many practices serve it.

980
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in San Antonio
Semrush, September 2026
#9
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
0.5
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population

How to choose a functional medicine doctor in San Antonio

  1. Decide how you'll pay first

    Of the 8 San Antonio practices we list, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 2 say they offer superbills only, 1 is cash only and 4 don't state a policy. 3 say they accept HSA/FSA cards. Only 2 publish a first-visit price, so ask the others before booking.

  2. Check licences, not the label

    Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence. Across the 8 practices, listed credentials include MD (7), NP (4), PA (2), DC (2) and ND (1). 4 practices self-report IFMCP certification, which we haven't confirmed. Look up each clinician's licence with the Texas state board.

  3. Ask what lab testing costs

    4 practices name lab tests on their sites. Food sensitivity testing and the GI-MAP stool test are each named by 3 practices, and cortisol/adrenal, genetic and heavy metals testing by 2. Ask which tests are included in your visit fee and which are billed separately.

  4. Confirm telehealth licensing for your state

    5 practices say they offer telehealth. Only 1 lists Texas as a state it serves, and 4 don't name any states. If you live outside San Antonio, ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in your state before a video visit.

San Antonio vs. all the cities we list

MetricSan AntonioAll listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits13%9%
Practices offering telehealth63%57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)50%11%

Functional medicine in San Antonio: common questions

How many functional medicine practices are in San Antonio?

Our San Antonio directory lists 8 functional medicine practices, as of the October 2026 update. None are hospital-affiliated programs. The top-scored by our published rubric are Prime Vitality Care (8.8), Root Causes Medical Clinic (7.6) and Integrative Family Medicine (6.7). Top-scored reflects credentials, transparency, access, breadth and data completeness, and partners never affect scores.

Does insurance cover functional medicine in San Antonio?

We can't say what your plan covers, but we can report what San Antonio practices say about billing. Of the 8 practices, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 2 say they provide superbills only, and 1 says it is cash only. The other 4 don't state their insurance policy. Check with your insurer and the practice before booking.

How much does a functional medicine visit cost in San Antonio?

Only 2 of the 8 San Antonio practices publish a first-visit price, and 1 publishes a follow-up price. None publish a membership fee. The amounts are self-reported on each practice's own website and aren't summarized here, so ask the practice directly for its current fees before you book.

Are the functional medicine practitioners in San Antonio medical doctors?

Many are. Practices list MDs at 7 of the 8 San Antonio practices. They also list NPs at 4, PAs at 2, DCs at 2 and an ND at 1. Credentials are self-reported. Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence, so confirm each clinician's licence with the Texas state board.

Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in Texas?

Some practices say they offer it. Of the 5 San Antonio practices that say they offer telehealth, 1 lists Texas as a state it serves. None name other states only, and 4 don't name any states. Telehealth coverage is self-reported, so ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in Texas before a video visit.

Do functional medicine practices in San Antonio charge a membership fee?

Some use a membership model. 2 of the 8 San Antonio practices say they run on a membership basis. None of the 8 publish a membership fee on their sites, so you'll need to ask a practice directly what its membership costs and what it includes.

Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in San Antonio?

Some practices say they accept them. 3 of the 8 San Antonio practices say they accept HSA or FSA cards. This is self-reported by each practice. Whether a specific charge qualifies depends on your account rules, so check with your plan administrator and the practice.

Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in San Antonio name?

4 of the 8 San Antonio practices name specific lab tests on their sites. The most named are food sensitivity testing and the GI-MAP stool test (3 practices each), followed by cortisol / adrenal testing, genetic testing, heavy metals testing, and insulin & A1c (2 practices each). Test listings are self-reported.

How we rank

Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.

Full methodology →

More cities and guides

Condition guides

All condition guides →

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.