Functional Medicine Index
Condition guide

Functional medicine for skin conditions

Functional medicine practices that list skin conditions on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.

48
Practices listing it
Of 264 we list
16
Cities
With a practice listing it
13%
In-network for visits
Of 32 that state it
Updated October 2026Jump to the practices →
The short answer

48 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention skin conditions on their own websites. The 9 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $600 ($250–$3,600). 4 of the 32 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: KALE Functional Medicine, West Holistic Medicine and Well North Functional Medicine.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert3 data sources, cited belowHow we rank →
Conditions are as each practice lists them on its own website. A practice listing a condition isn't evidence that a treatment works.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for skin conditions
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Parsley Health says it treats unexplained symptoms concerns including Allergic reactions, anxiety, bloating, brain fog, fatigue, headaches, insomnia, joint pain, low mood and skin rashes, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.

Condition care
Unexplained Symptoms, per Parsley Health
Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Where practices list skin conditions

CityPractices listing itOf practices listed
New York726
Denver517
Houston419
San Antonio48
San Diego321
Austin311
Los Angeles311
Raleigh39
Charlotte29
Omaha28
Atlanta26
Nashville23
Dallas17
Lakewood15
Cary14
Encinitas11
Other areas4—

Top-scored practices that list skin conditions

Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Parsley HealthPartner
Telehealth · all 50 states
Not reportedNot reportedIn-network nationwide, per partnerYes · all 50 statesMembership$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-payNot reported—Not scored
KALE Functional Medicine
Houston
MD, NPYes · self-reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$698YesSee profile8.1
West Holistic Medicine
Austin
MD, DO, NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · 11 statesMembership or per visit$575Not reportedSee profile8.0
Well North Functional Medicine
Denver
NPYes · self-reportedSuperbillYes · CO, UTPer visitNot reportedNot reportedSee profile7.7
Root Causes Medical Clinic
San Antonio
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness
The Woodlands
MD, DO, PANot reportedSuperbillYes · TXNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile7.4
Ann Shippy MD
Austin
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$3,600Not reportedSee profile7.3
Carolina Total Wellness
Raleigh
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$965Not reportedSee profile7.3
Optimal Health Medicine Center
Charlotte
MDYes · self-reportedSuperbillYes · NC, SCNot reportedNot reportedYesSee profile7.0
Dr. Robin Mayfield, DC, ACN
Austin
DCNot reportedCash onlyYesPer visitNot reportedYesSee profile6.9
Dr. Susan Cucchiara, Naturopathic Doctor NYC
New York
NDNot reportedCash onlyYes · ALLMembership or per visit$495YesSee profile6.8

Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

Tests these practices name most often

Named on the websites of the 48 practices that list skin conditions.

  • Food sensitivity testing17 of 48
  • Stool testing15 of 48
  • Micronutrient testing12 of 48
  • Heavy metals testing10 of 48
  • Cortisol / adrenal testing9 of 48
  • Genetic testing8 of 48

Functional medicine for skin conditions: common questions

How many functional medicine practices list skin conditions?

48 of the 264 practices we list name skin conditions on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.

Do functional medicine practices that list skin conditions take insurance?

4 of the 48 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 15 provide a superbill instead and 12 are cash only. 16 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list skin conditions?

9 practices publish a first-visit price: median $600, from $250 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.

What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list skin conditions have?

"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (26), NP (14), DC (12), ND (7) and DO (6).

Do these practices offer telehealth?

33 of the 48 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.

Which lab tests do practices that list skin conditions name on their sites?

The tests named most often by practices that list skin conditions are Food sensitivity testing (17), Stool testing (15), Micronutrient testing (12) and Heavy metals testing (10). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.

Can I talk to a practice before booking?

21 of the 48 offer a discovery call before the first visit (19 say it's free).

Are these practices accepting new patients?

8 of the 48 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 12 of these 48 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.