Compare 9 functional medicine practices in Raleigh by credentials, insurance, telehealth and price — each one checked against its own website, with clinicians matched to NPI records.
Raleigh has 9 functional medicine practices in our directory. 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 3 say they offer superbills only and 4 list telehealth. Of the 4 that publish a first-visit price, the median is $623, ranging from $489 to $965. Top-scored by our rubric: Hormone Wellness MD (8.9), Carolina Total Wellness (7.3) and FoundationMED (7.0).
Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert10 data sources, all cited belowHow we rank →
How we verified this page: all 9 practices checked against NPI records, links to the North Carolina licensing boards and each practice's own website, most recently on October 6, 2026. Next full check: January 2027.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for Raleigh, NC
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health
Telehealth functional medicine. Parsley Health says it accepts insurance in all 50 states for eligible medical visits.
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. It doesn't affect how we rank the practices below — see how we rank. Pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Compare Raleigh functional medicine practices
All 9 practices side by side. Self-reported fields are marked on each profile; Google ratings are on each profile.
Credentials as each practice lists them on its website; each profile shows the clinicians we matched to NPI records. IFMCP, insurance, telehealth, model and price are self-reported by each practice on its own website and dated on its profile. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
The best functional medicine doctors in Raleigh, ranked
#1
Hormone Wellness MD
Raleigh
MD + NPIFMCP · self-reportedSuperbillTelehealthAccepting new patients
Hormone Wellness MD publishes a $489 New Patient 60 Minute Consultation, the lowest of 4 first-visit prices published among 9 Raleigh practices (median $623), and is the only one of the 9 whose site lists an IFMCP clinician. It lists MD and NP credentials and says it provides superbills and telehealth in NC and AL. Conditions named include menopause, PCOS and thyroid disorders.
Carolina Total Wellness publishes a first-visit price of $965, the highest of the 4 Raleigh practices that list one, against a city median of $623. Its site names three MDs, and it says it provides superbills, accepts HSA/FSA cards, offers telehealth and doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. Conditions it lists include autoimmune diseases, insomnia and digestive conditions.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
$385 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
13 and up
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
FoundationMED is one of 4 of the 9 Raleigh practices we list that publish a first-visit price: $745, against a city median of $623. Its site names an MD and a DO, and it says it is cash only, offers telehealth and is accepting new patients. Conditions it lists include thyroid conditions, menopause symptoms and autoimmune disease.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
$345 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2006
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
One of 2 of the 9 Raleigh practices we list naming an NP, Staywell Health describes a direct primary care model, with an Access Membership starting at $35/mo. It says it is cash only, accepts HSA/FSA cards and offers a free 15-minute discovery call. Conditions on its site include PCOS, mycotoxin & mold illness and perimenopause.
One of 3 of the 9 practices we list in Raleigh with a DC credential, this practice names Greg Barnes, a Doctor of Chiropractic and Certified Functional Medicine Practitioner (CFMP). It says it provides superbills, accepts HSA/FSA cards and lists Spanish. Among 14 conditions on its site are thyroid disorders, hormonal imbalances, autoimmune disorders and anxiety.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
This functional medicine practice says it offers telehealth, which 4 of the 9 Raleigh practices we list do. Its site names one clinician, Loan Huynh, DC, and it says it accepts HSA/FSA cards. It lists 17 conditions, including headaches, thyroid disorders, digestive issues and chronic fatigue syndrome.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Holistic Vitality Center is the only one of the 9 practices we list in Raleigh that says it works in-network with insurance, though it lists no carriers. Its site names DC clinicians and lists chiropractic care, acupuncture, nutrition and massage therapy. Conditions it lists include thyroid issues, menopause and digestive & gut health issues.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
NPI record since
2007
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Board of Chiropractic Examiners
D5 Health is the only one of the 9 Raleigh practices we list that names a PA, and its $500 initial consult sits below the $623 city median. It lists MD and PA clinicians, a $300/mo membership with up to 4 visits/year, or per-visit care with $250 follow-ups. Listed conditions include menopause care, weight loss and fatigue.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
$250 each
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2009
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
Triangle Functional Medicine is one of 2 of the 9 Raleigh practices we list that show a DO credential, with two D.O. clinicians named on its site. It runs a membership model, says it is cash only and lists HSA/FSA cards as accepted. Conditions it lists include weight gain, gastrointestinal health, restorative sleep and general dermatology.
First visit
Not reported
Follow-ups
Not reported
Discovery call
Not reported
Licence status
Check with North Carolina Medical Board
NPI record since
2012
Ages · languages
Not reported
Verified October 2026Licence: North Carolina Medical Board
Adults ever diagnosed with depression, by tract:≤23.1%23.1–23.7%23.7–24.7%24.7–26.6%>26.6%practice (rank)
Where need is highest vs. where practices are
Depression prevalence for each of 88 census tracts in Raleigh (CDC PLACES), with the ranked practices on top.
Sources: CDC PLACES (2022–2023 survey data); County Health Rankings 2025; HRSA shortage areas; CMS Doctors & Clinicians; Census ACS 5-year. Checked October 2026.
How much does functional medicine cost in Raleigh?
Raleigh practices that publish prices charge $489–$965 for a first visit (median $623) and $250–$432 for follow-ups. 3 practices publish a membership fee, from $35–$300 a month. Only 4 of 9 practices publish a first-visit price, so ask any practice for its current fees.
What you pay for
Raleigh range
Median
Practices reporting
First visitInitial consultation, as each practice names it
$489–$965
$623
4 of 9
Follow-up visitPer visit, where priced separately
$250–$432
$365
4 of 9
Local membershipMonthly fee; what's included varies
$35–$300/mo
$45/mo
3 of 9
Featured partner: Parsley Health telehealth membershipFrom the partner's published pricing; not a listed practice
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
—
Published price
From prices published by the practices we list, as each practice names its visits; checked October 2026. Insurance may cover visits and standard labs; ask each practice. Compare prices across all cities →
What Raleigh practices treat most often
Conditions listed on practice websites, out of 9 practices.
Local search demand and how many practices serve it.
710
Monthly Google searches for functional medicine in Raleigh
Semrush, September 2026
#14
Rank by local search demand
Among the US cities we measure (Semrush)
1.9
Practices per 100,000 residents
Our listings · Census population
How to choose a functional medicine doctor in Raleigh
01
Decide how you will pay first
Of Raleigh's 9 listed practices, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 3 offer superbills only, 3 are cash only and 2 don't say. The 4 that publish first-visit prices list $489 to $965, with a median of $623. Ask for the full cost in writing.
02
Check licences, not the label
Functional medicine is an approach, not a licence. Raleigh practices list MD (4), DC (3), NP (2), DO (2) and PA (1) credentials. Only 1 self-reports IFMCP certification. Ask which licence your clinician holds and confirm it with the North Carolina board.
03
Ask what lab testing costs
4 Raleigh practices name lab tests on their sites. Thyroid testing, metabolic panels and inflammation markers are each named by 2 practices. Ask whether testing is included in the visit fee or billed separately, and who bills you for it.
04
Confirm telehealth licensing for your state
4 Raleigh practices say they offer telehealth. Only 1 lists North Carolina, and 3 don't name any states. If you live outside the city, ask the clinician to confirm they are licensed where you live. Then check with your state board.
Raleigh vs. all the cities we list
Metric
Raleigh
All listed practices
Practices billing insurance for visits
11%
9%
Practices offering telehealth
44%
57%
IFMCP-certified (self-reported)
11%
11%
Median published first-visit price
$623
$438
Functional medicine in Raleigh: common questions
How many functional medicine practices are in Raleigh?
This page lists 9 functional medicine practices in Raleigh, North Carolina. The data was last updated in October 2026. Prices, insurance, telehealth, credentials, labs and conditions on each profile come from the practice's own website and are labelled self-reported.
Does insurance cover functional medicine in Raleigh?
We can't say what any plan covers, but we can report what practices say. Of the 9 Raleigh practices, 1 says it bills insurance for visits, 3 say they give superbills only, 3 say they are cash only, and 2 don't state an insurance policy. Check with your insurer and the practice before booking.
How much does a functional medicine visit cost in Raleigh?
Among the 4 Raleigh practices that publish a first-visit price, the median is $623, ranging from $489 to $965. Follow-up visits, also published by 4 practices, have a median of $365, with a lowest of $250 and a highest of $432. These prices are self-reported by each practice.
Are the functional medicine practitioners in Raleigh medical doctors?
Some are, but not all. Practices list these credentials: MD (4), DC (3), NP (2), DO (2) and PA (1). These are self-reported. "Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence, and practitioners hold their own licences. Confirm a clinician's licence with the North Carolina state board.
Can I see a functional medicine doctor online in North Carolina?
Yes, some practices say they offer it. Of the 4 Raleigh practices that say they offer telehealth, 1 lists North Carolina, 0 name other states only, and 3 don't name states. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed in North Carolina before a video visit.
Do functional medicine practices in Raleigh charge a membership fee?
Some do. 1 Raleigh practice uses a membership model, and 3 practices publish a membership fee, all with a stated billing period. Published fees have a median of $45/mo, ranging from $35/mo to $300/mo. These figures are self-reported by the practices.
Can I pay with an HSA or FSA card in Raleigh?
Many practices say they accept these cards. 6 of the 9 Raleigh practices say they accept HSA or FSA cards. That reflects what the practices say they accept, not whether a given service qualifies, so check with your plan administrator before paying.
Which lab tests do functional medicine practices in Raleigh name?
4 Raleigh practices name lab tests on their sites. The most named are inflammation markers, metabolic panels and thyroid testing (2 practices each). Cortisol / adrenal testing, DUTCH hormones and food sensitivity testing are each named by 1 practice. These lists are self-reported.
How we rank
Scores come from verified data only: credentials & licensure (25%), transparency on pricing and insurance (25%), access (25%), breadth of services (15%) and data completeness (10%). Google ratings are shown live but never scored, and partner brands can't change a rank or a score.
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Functional medicine practitioners hold different licences and training; confirm credentials and costs directly with any practice before booking.