Functional medicine for brain health & cognition
Functional medicine practices that list brain health & cognition on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.
73 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention brain health & cognition on their own websites. The 14 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $482 ($295–$3,600). 9 of the 37 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: Hormone Wellness MD, Prime Vitality Care and KALE Functional Medicine.
Parsley Health says it treats mental & emotional health concerns including Agitation, anxiety, brain fog, changes in appetite or weight, difficulty concentrating, fatigue, feeling hopeless, insomnia, irritability, loss of interest in activities and low mood, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.
- Condition care
- Mental & Emotional Health, per Parsley Health
- Insurance
- In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
- Membership
- $150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
- HSA / FSA
- Eligible, per Parsley Health
- Medicare / Medicaid
- Not accepted
Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.
Where practices list brain health & cognition
| City | Practices listing it | Of practices listed |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 11 | 26 |
| San Diego | 7 | 21 |
| Houston | 7 | 19 |
| Los Angeles | 6 | 11 |
| Raleigh | 6 | 9 |
| Boise | 5 | 11 |
| Denver | 4 | 17 |
| Austin | 3 | 11 |
| Omaha | 3 | 8 |
| Atlanta | 3 | 6 |
| San Antonio | 2 | 8 |
| Dallas | 2 | 7 |
| Centennial | 2 | 3 |
| Charlotte | 1 | 9 |
| Lakewood | 1 | 5 |
| Nashville | 1 | 3 |
| Cedar Park | 1 | 2 |
| Apex | 1 | 1 |
| Carlsbad | 1 | 1 |
| Encinitas | 1 | 1 |
| Other areas | 5 | — |
Top-scored practices that list brain health & cognition
Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.
| Practice | Credentials | IFMCP | Insurance | Telehealth | Model | Initial visit | New patients | Google rating | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parsley HealthPartner Telehealth · all 50 states | Not reported | Not reported | In-network nationwide, per partner | Yes · all 50 states | Membership | $150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay | Not reported | — | Not scored |
| Hormone Wellness MD Raleigh | MD, NP | Yes · self-reported | Superbill | Yes · NC, AL | Membership or per visit | $489 | Yes | See profile | 8.9 |
| Prime Vitality Care San Antonio | MD | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Membership or per visit | $349 | Not reported | See profile | 8.8 |
| KALE Functional Medicine Houston | MD, NP | Yes · self-reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $698 | Yes | See profile | 8.1 |
| Dr. Kausik Roy, MD Cedar Park | MD | Not reported | Cash only | Yes | Membership or per visit | $450 | Not reported | See profile | 7.9 |
| Ann Shippy MD Austin | MD | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $3,600 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| Carolina Total Wellness Raleigh | MD | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $965 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| Integrative Health Solutions La Jolla | ND | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Per visit | $595 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| Signature Wellness Charlotte | NP, ND, PA | Not reported | Superbill | Yes | Not reported | $397 | Not reported | See profile | 7.3 |
| FoundationMED Raleigh | MD, DO | Not reported | Cash only | Yes | Per visit | $745 | Yes | See profile | 7.0 |
| Resilient Health Austin | MD | Yes · self-reported | In-network | Yes | Membership | Not reported | Yes | See profile | 6.9 |
Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.
Tests these practices name most often
Named on the websites of the 73 practices that list brain health & cognition.
- Stool testing17 of 73
- Food sensitivity testing16 of 73
- Micronutrient testing12 of 73
- Heavy metals testing11 of 73
- Thyroid testing10 of 73
- Inflammation markers10 of 73
Functional medicine for brain health & cognition: common questions
How many functional medicine practices list brain health & cognition?
73 of the 264 practices we list name brain health & cognition on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.
Do functional medicine practices that list brain health & cognition take insurance?
9 of the 73 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 18 provide a superbill instead and 9 are cash only. 36 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.
How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list brain health & cognition?
14 practices publish a first-visit price: median $482, from $295 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.
What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list brain health & cognition have?
"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (40), DC (24), NP (16), ND (14) and DO (10).
Do these practices offer telehealth?
47 of the 73 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.
Which lab tests do practices that list brain health & cognition name on their sites?
The tests named most often by practices that list brain health & cognition are Stool testing (17), Food sensitivity testing (16), Micronutrient testing (12) and Heavy metals testing (11). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.
Can I talk to a practice before booking?
34 of the 73 offer a discovery call before the first visit (25 say it's free).
Are these practices accepting new patients?
13 of the 73 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.
What does IFMCP mean on a listing?
It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 10 of these 73 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.
Sources
- NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
- Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
- Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages
This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.