Functional Medicine Index
Verified October 6, 2026

Optimal Health Medicine Center, Charlotte

MD-led functional medicine practice in Charlotte, NC

MDIFMCP · self-reportedSuperbillTelehealthAccepting new patients

Location and hours

Live from Google
Address
11220 Elm Ln, Charlotte, NC 28277
Loading details from Google
Rating, hours and phone shown live from Google Maps. Not part of our score.
Google Map · Directions

At a glance

This is the only one of the 9 practices we list in Charlotte that says its telehealth covers North Carolina and South Carolina. Its physician lists MD and IFMCP credentials; it offers superbills and doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. It lists a free discovery call, a 90-minute first visit and conditions including chronic fatigue, insomnia and long COVID.

First visit90 minutes
Follow-upsNot reported
Discovery callFree
New patientsAccepting
TelehealthYes · Yes · NC, SC
Ages seen10 and up
LanguagesNot reported
NPI record since2006

Insurance and payment

Self-reported · Oct 2026
Insurance for visits
Superbill
Medicare
Not accepted
Medicaid
Not accepted
HSA / FSA cards
Accepted
Practice model
Not reported

Check coverage with your plan before booking, and ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

Practitioners

As named on the practice's website.

Nelsa Andersson Ciapponi, MD, IFMCP

PhysicianMD, IFMCP (listed on the practice's site)NC licence · verify with the board
Measured · public records

Credentials and licensure

PractitionerNPILicenceStatusLicensed since
Nelsa A Ciapponi, M.D.1689690968North Carolina Medical Board · 0095-00862Verify with the boardNot reported

Sources: NPPES NPI Registry, checked October 6, 2026; North Carolina Medical Board: linked for you to verify (not checked by us). IFMCP status is self-reported.

Labs and services

Food sensitivity testingDiscussion and recommendation for quality vitamins and supplements

As listed on the practice's website.

How we scored Optimal Health Medicine Center

Total 7.0 / 10
  • Credentials & licensure · 25%20 / 25
    1 clinician matched to NPI records, licence linked to the state board lookup (not checked against open data) and clinicians named with credentials on its site.
  • Transparency on pricing and insurance · 25%10 / 25
    Publishes its insurance status and HSA/FSA policy; no first-visit price.
  • Access · 25%21 / 25
    Superbill for out-of-network claims, telehealth in NC and SC, accepting new patients and free discovery call.
  • Breadth of services · 15%11 / 15
    15 conditions listed, 1 named lab test and 1 service.
  • Data completeness · 10%8.3 / 10
    10 of 12 key fields verified.

Scores use verified data only. Partner brands can't change a rank or a score. Full methodology

Compare with nearby practices

Charlotte practices ranked next to Optimal Health Medicine Center

See the Charlotte rankings →

Optimal Health Medicine Center: common questions

Does Optimal Health Medicine Center take insurance?

Optimal Health Medicine Center says it provides superbills, and it lists no in-network insurance carriers. The practice says it doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. It says it accepts HSA/FSA cards. Ask your insurer directly whether it will reimburse anything submitted on a superbill.

Can I see Optimal Health Medicine Center by telehealth?

Yes, Optimal Health Medicine Center says it offers telehealth. It lists North Carolina and South Carolina as its telehealth states. We have not checked the clinician's North Carolina M.D. licence status, so confirm with the state medical board that the clinician is licensed in the state where you will be during the visit.

Which lab tests does Optimal Health Medicine Center offer?

Optimal Health Medicine Center names one lab test on its website: food sensitivity testing. This is self-reported by the practice. Ask the practice directly about any other testing it may order and what each test costs before you book.

Does Optimal Health Medicine Center see children?

Optimal Health Medicine Center says it sees patients aged 10 and up. Children younger than 10 fall outside the age range the practice publishes. Families with a child aged 10 or older can contact the practice to confirm details before booking.

Is Optimal Health Medicine Center accepting new patients?

Yes, Optimal Health Medicine Center is accepting new patients, per its website, as of our October 2026 check. The practice says it offers a free discovery call, and it lists a first visit of 90 minutes. Availability can change, so confirm with the practice when you contact it.

What does Optimal Health Medicine Center treat?

Optimal Health Medicine Center lists 15 conditions on its site; we don't report outcomes. Examples it names include GI issues including IBS, GERD and IBD; thyroid conditions, Hashimoto & hypo-thyroid; chronic fatigue; COVID symptoms (long COVID); auto-immune conditions; menopause/PMS/mood; insomnia; and premenstrual syndrome. These are self-reported by the practice.

Is this your practice?

Claim it to update prices, insurance and services, and get a “Featured practice” badge for your website that links to this profile.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Google Places API (New) — ratings, hours and phone, shown live and not stored

This profile is for information only and isn't medical advice or an endorsement. Confirm credentials, coverage and costs directly with the practice.