Functional Medicine Index
Condition guide

Functional medicine for allergies

Functional medicine practices that list allergies on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.

47
Practices listing it
Of 264 we list
18
Cities
With a practice listing it
13%
In-network for visits
Of 32 that state it
Updated October 2026Jump to the practices →
The short answer

47 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention allergies on their own websites. The 11 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $600 ($295–$3,600). 4 of the 32 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: KALE Functional Medicine, West Holistic Medicine and Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert3 data sources, cited belowHow we rank →
Conditions are as each practice lists them on its own website. A practice listing a condition isn't evidence that a treatment works.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for allergies
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Parsley Health says it treats unexplained symptoms concerns including Allergic reactions, anxiety, bloating, brain fog, fatigue, headaches, insomnia, joint pain, low mood and skin rashes, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.

Condition care
Unexplained Symptoms, per Parsley Health
Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Where practices list allergies

CityPractices listing itOf practices listed
New York726
San Diego621
Los Angeles511
Austin411
Houston319
Denver317
Boise211
Charlotte29
Raleigh29
Omaha28
San Antonio18
Atlanta16
Lakewood15
Nashville13
Cedar Park12
Durham12
Carlsbad11
Encinitas11
Other areas3—

Top-scored practices that list allergies

Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Parsley HealthPartner
Telehealth · all 50 states
Not reportedNot reportedIn-network nationwide, per partnerYes · all 50 statesMembership$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-payNot reported—Not scored
KALE Functional Medicine
Houston
MD, NPYes · self-reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$698YesSee profile8.1
West Holistic Medicine
Austin
MD, DO, NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · 11 statesMembership or per visit$575Not reportedSee profile8.0
Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina
Chapel Hill
MD, NPNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$400YesSee profile7.6
Root Causes Medical Clinic
San Antonio
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness
The Woodlands
MD, DO, PANot reportedSuperbillYes · TXNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile7.4
Ann Shippy MD
Austin
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$3,600Not reportedSee profile7.3
Carolina Total Wellness
Raleigh
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$965Not reportedSee profile7.3
Dr. Alexandra Shustina
New York
DONot reportedSuperbillYes · NY, NJ, FLPer visit$1,500YesSee profile7.3
Dr. Brenda Marshall, MD
San Diego
MDNot reportedSuperbillYes · CAPer visit$395Not reportedSee profile7.1
Integrative Medicine & Total Wellness
Austin
MD, NP, PANot reportedIn-networkYes · TXDirect primary careNot reportedYesSee profile7.1

Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

Tests these practices name most often

Named on the websites of the 47 practices that list allergies.

  • Stool testing16 of 47
  • Food sensitivity testing15 of 47
  • Micronutrient testing11 of 47
  • Cortisol / adrenal testing10 of 47
  • Organic acids (OAT)8 of 47
  • Heavy metals testing8 of 47

Functional medicine for allergies: common questions

How many functional medicine practices list allergies?

47 of the 264 practices we list name allergies on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.

Do functional medicine practices that list allergies take insurance?

4 of the 47 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 18 provide a superbill instead and 9 are cash only. 15 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list allergies?

11 practices publish a first-visit price: median $600, from $295 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.

What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list allergies have?

"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (23), NP (13), DC (12), ND (11) and DO (6).

Do these practices offer telehealth?

33 of the 47 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.

Which lab tests do practices that list allergies name on their sites?

The tests named most often by practices that list allergies are Stool testing (16), Food sensitivity testing (15), Micronutrient testing (11) and Cortisol / adrenal testing (10). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.

Can I talk to a practice before booking?

19 of the 47 offer a discovery call before the first visit (16 say it's free).

Are these practices accepting new patients?

10 of the 47 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 7 of these 47 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.