Root Causes Medical Clinic, San Antonio
MD and NP-led functional medicine practice in San Antonio, TX
Location and hours
Live from Google- Address
- 19026 Ridgewood Pkwy, Ste 119, San Antonio, TX 78259
At a glance
Root Causes Medical Clinic is the only one of the 8 San Antonio practices we list that names an ND, and one of 2 publishing a first-visit price ($600 intake screening with a nurse practitioner). It says it is cash only and membership-based, with telehealth and a free discovery call. Its site lists lupus, thyroid issues and eczema.
Pricing
Self-reported · Oct 2026- First visitIntake Screening with a Nurse Practioner
- $600
Prices as the practice names its visits on its own site. Confirm current fees before booking.
Insurance and payment
Self-reported · Oct 2026- Insurance for visits
- Cash only
- Medicare
- Not accepted
- Medicaid
- Not accepted
- HSA / FSA cards
- Accepted
- Practice model
- Membership
Check coverage with your plan before booking, and ask whether lab tests are billed separately.
Practitioners
As named on the practice's website.
Derek Guillory, MD
Medical DirectorMD (listed on the practice's site)TX licence · activeLucas Tims, ND, FABNO
Naturopathic OncologistND, FABNO (listed on the practice's site)Luke Schulte-Ovalle, Psy D, NRP
PsychologistPsy D, NRP (listed on the practice's site)Charlotte Widick, APRN, IFMCP
Nurse PractitionerAPRN, IFMCP (listed on the practice's site)Haley Kraskovic, FNP-C
Nurse PractitionerFNP-C (listed on the practice's site)Christal Carter, APRN
Nurse PractitionerAPRN (listed on the practice's site)TX licence · currentCredentials and licensure
| Practitioner | NPI | Licence | Status | Licensed since |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Derek W Guillory, M.D. | 1710972880 | Texas Medical Board · L5751 | ACTIVE · no public actions | 2003 |
| Christal Lynn Carter, FNP-C | 1649915778 | Texas Board of Nursing · 1035144 | CURRENT | 2026 |
| Luke Anthony Schulte | 1104604206 | Not checked | Not reported | |
| Haley N Dragoo-Kraskovic, FNP-C | 1477201788 | TX licence (from NPPES) | Not checked | Not reported |
Sources: NPPES NPI Registry, checked October 6, 2026; licence status from Texas Medical Board; Texas Board of Nursing open data. IFMCP status is self-reported.
Conditions this practice lists
As listed on the practice's website. Listing a condition isn't evidence a treatment works.
Labs and services
As listed on the practice's website.
How we scored Root Causes Medical Clinic
Total 7.6 / 10- Credentials & licensure · 25%25 / 254 clinicians matched to NPI records, licence active with no public actions (Texas Medical Board) and clinicians named with credentials on its site.
- Transparency on pricing and insurance · 25%20 / 25Publishes its first-visit price, insurance status and HSA/FSA policy.
- Access · 25%12 / 25Telehealth and free discovery call.
- Breadth of services · 15%11 / 1512 conditions listed and 8 services.
- Data completeness · 10%8.3 / 1010 of 12 key fields verified.
Scores use verified data only. Partner brands can't change a rank or a score. Full methodology
Compare with nearby practices
San Antonio practices ranked next to Root Causes Medical Clinic
Root Causes Medical Clinic: common questions
Does Root Causes Medical Clinic take insurance?
No. Root Causes Medical Clinic says it is cash only, and it lists no in-network insurance carriers. It says it doesn't accept Medicare or Medicaid. The practice says it accepts HSA/FSA cards. Check with your plan administrator before assuming any reimbursement. These details are self-reported from the practice's website.
How much is a first visit at Root Causes Medical Clinic?
The practice publishes $600 for its first visit, which it calls the "Intake Screening with a Nurse Practioner." It doesn't list how many minutes that visit lasts. Before that, it lists a free discovery call. Pricing is self-reported from the practice's website and was verified in October 2026.
Can I see Root Causes Medical Clinic by telehealth?
Yes. Root Causes Medical Clinic says it offers telehealth, but it doesn't name which states it serves. We checked two Texas licences: Derek W Guillory's TX M.D. licence is active with no public actions, and Christal Lynn Carter's TX FNP-C licence is current. If you live outside Texas, confirm with your state board that the clinician is licensed where you are.
Does Root Causes Medical Clinic have a membership?
Yes. Root Causes Medical Clinic lists a membership practice model. Our data doesn't include a membership price or follow-up fee. The published figure we have is the $600 Intake Screening with a Nurse Practioner, plus a free discovery call. Ask the practice directly what a membership includes and what it costs.
Which lab tests does Root Causes Medical Clinic offer?
Our data doesn't name any specific lab tests for Root Causes Medical Clinic. The practice does list on-site blood draws among its services. Ask the practice which tests it orders and whether test fees are separate from the $600 Intake Screening with a Nurse Practioner.
What does Root Causes Medical Clinic treat?
Root Causes Medical Clinic names 12 conditions on its site. Examples include irritable bowel syndrome, lupus, thyroid issues, high blood pressure, weight control, diabetes, eczema and depression. These listings are self-reported from the practice's website. They describe what the practice names, not outcomes. Discuss your own situation with a clinician.
Is this your practice?
Claim it to update prices, insurance and services, and get a “Featured practice” badge for your website that links to this profile.
Sources
- NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
- Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
- Texas Medical Board licensee dataset — licence status, issue date and disciplinary status
- Texas Board of Nursing APRN + RN datasets — nurse practitioner licence status and board actions
- Google Places API (New) — ratings, hours and phone, shown live and not stored
This profile is for information only and isn't medical advice or an endorsement. Confirm credentials, coverage and costs directly with the practice.