Functional Medicine Index
Condition guide

Functional medicine for depression & mood

Functional medicine practices that list depression & mood on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.

60
Practices listing it
Of 264 we list
19
Cities
With a practice listing it
11%
In-network for visits
Of 37 that state it
Updated October 2026Jump to the practices →
The short answer

60 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention depression & mood on their own websites. The 12 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $498 ($300–$3,600). 4 of the 37 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: Dr. Kausik Roy, MD, Well North Functional Medicine and Your Functional Health.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert3 data sources, cited belowHow we rank →
Conditions are as each practice lists them on its own website. A practice listing a condition isn't evidence that a treatment works.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for depression & mood
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Parsley Health says it treats mental & emotional health concerns including Agitation, anxiety, brain fog, changes in appetite or weight, difficulty concentrating, fatigue, feeling hopeless, insomnia, irritability, loss of interest in activities and low mood, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.

Condition care
Mental & Emotional Health, per Parsley Health
Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Where practices list depression & mood

CityPractices listing itOf practices listed
San Diego1021
New York726
Denver717
Houston519
Austin311
Boise311
Raleigh39
San Antonio38
Los Angeles211
Omaha28
Dallas27
Atlanta26
Charlotte19
Lakewood15
Cary14
Nashville13
Cedar Park12
Richmond12
Encinitas11
Other areas4—

Top-scored practices that list depression & mood

Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Parsley HealthPartner
Telehealth · all 50 states
Not reportedNot reportedIn-network nationwide, per partnerYes · all 50 statesMembership$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-payNot reported—Not scored
Dr. Kausik Roy, MD
Cedar Park
MDNot reportedCash onlyYesMembership or per visit$450Not reportedSee profile7.9
Well North Functional Medicine
Denver
NPYes · self-reportedSuperbillYes · CO, UTPer visitNot reportedNot reportedSee profile7.7
Your Functional Health
Austin
NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · TXMembership or per visit$500Not reportedSee profile7.7
Root Causes Medical Clinic
San Antonio
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Woodlands Institute for Health & Wellness
The Woodlands
MD, DO, PANot reportedSuperbillYes · TXNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedSee profile7.4
Ann Shippy MD
Austin
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$3,600Not reportedSee profile7.3
Carolina Total Wellness
Raleigh
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$965Not reportedSee profile7.3
Dr. Alexandra Shustina
New York
DONot reportedSuperbillYes · NY, NJ, FLPer visit$1,500YesSee profile7.3
Orchard Integrative Medicine
San Diego
NDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$425Not reportedSee profile7.2
Dr. Brenda Marshall, MD
San Diego
MDNot reportedSuperbillYes · CAPer visit$395Not reportedSee profile7.1

Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

Tests these practices name most often

Named on the websites of the 60 practices that list depression & mood.

  • Food sensitivity testing22 of 60
  • Stool testing19 of 60
  • Cortisol / adrenal testing16 of 60
  • Genetic testing16 of 60
  • Heavy metals testing14 of 60
  • Micronutrient testing12 of 60

Functional medicine for depression & mood: common questions

How many functional medicine practices list depression & mood?

60 of the 264 practices we list name depression & mood on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.

Do functional medicine practices that list depression & mood take insurance?

4 of the 60 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 22 provide a superbill instead and 10 are cash only. 23 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list depression & mood?

12 practices publish a first-visit price: median $498, from $300 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.

What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list depression & mood have?

"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (28), ND (16), NP (16), DC (13) and DO (9).

Do these practices offer telehealth?

46 of the 60 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.

Which lab tests do practices that list depression & mood name on their sites?

The tests named most often by practices that list depression & mood are Food sensitivity testing (22), Stool testing (19), Cortisol / adrenal testing (16) and Genetic testing (16). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.

Can I talk to a practice before booking?

32 of the 60 offer a discovery call before the first visit (28 say it's free).

Are these practices accepting new patients?

11 of the 60 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 9 of these 60 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.