Functional Medicine Index
Condition guide

Functional medicine for pain & inflammation

Functional medicine practices that list pain & inflammation on their own websites, and the tests they name. A medically reviewed explainer for this condition is coming.

107
Practices listing it
Of 264 we list
23
Cities
With a practice listing it
19%
In-network for visits
Of 67 that state it
Updated October 2026Jump to the practices →
The short answer

107 of the 264 functional medicine practices we list mention pain & inflammation on their own websites. The 19 that publish a first-visit price have a median of $475 ($250–$3,600). 13 of the 67 that state their insurance status bill insurance for visits. Top-scored: Prime Vitality Care, KALE Functional Medicine and West Holistic Medicine.

Medical reviewer: being appointedEvery figure on this page is from the cited sourcesEdited by Andrew Ehlert3 data sources, cited belowHow we rank →
Conditions are as each practice lists them on its own website. A practice listing a condition isn't evidence that a treatment works.
Featured partnerFeatured telehealth option for pain & inflammation
Insurance accepted in all 50 states, per Parsley Health
Parsley Health

Parsley Health says it treats autoimmune & inflammation concerns including Crohn’s disease, Hashimoto’s, lupus, psoriasis, rheumatoid arthritis, ulcerative colitis and joint pain, by telehealth, with insurance accepted in all 50 states.

Condition care
Autoimmune & Inflammation, per Parsley Health
Insurance
In-network nationwide, per Parsley Health
Membership
$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-pay
HSA / FSA
Eligible, per Parsley Health
Medicare / Medicaid
Not accepted
Visit Parsley Health

Featured partner. We have a business relationship with Parsley Health. Because of it, Parsley Health is shown first in the list below; every other practice is ranked by our published rubric — see how we rank. Conditions and pricing from parsleyhealth.com, checked October 2026.

Where practices list pain & inflammation

Top-scored practices that list pain & inflammation

Our score doesn't measure treatment outcomes; it measures credentials, transparency, access and data completeness.

PracticeCredentialsIFMCPInsuranceTelehealthModelInitial visitNew patientsGoogle ratingScore
Parsley HealthPartner
Telehealth · all 50 states
Not reportedNot reportedIn-network nationwide, per partnerYes · all 50 statesMembership$150/mo with insurance · $275/mo self-payNot reported—Not scored
Prime Vitality Care
San Antonio
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesMembership or per visit$349Not reportedSee profile8.8
KALE Functional Medicine
Houston
MD, NPYes · self-reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$698YesSee profile8.1
West Holistic Medicine
Austin
MD, DO, NPNot reportedSuperbillYes · 11 statesMembership or per visit$575Not reportedSee profile8.0
Integrative Medical Clinic of North Carolina
Chapel Hill
MD, NPNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$400YesSee profile7.6
Kyra Kare Health & Wellness
Bonita
NDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$350Not reportedSee profile7.6
Root Causes Medical Clinic
San Antonio
MD, NP, NDYes · self-reportedCash onlyYesMembership$600Not reportedSee profile7.6
Ann Shippy MD
Austin
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$3,600Not reportedSee profile7.3
Carolina Total Wellness
Raleigh
MDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$965Not reportedSee profile7.3
Dr. Alexandra Shustina
New York
DONot reportedSuperbillYes · NY, NJ, FLPer visit$1,500YesSee profile7.3
Integrative Health Solutions
La Jolla
NDNot reportedSuperbillYesPer visit$595Not reportedSee profile7.3

Conditions, insurance and price are self-reported by each practice. Google ratings are shown live on each practice's profile and are not part of our score.

Tests these practices name most often

Named on the websites of the 107 practices that list pain & inflammation.

  • Food sensitivity testing24 of 107
  • Stool testing23 of 107
  • Genetic testing20 of 107
  • Micronutrient testing19 of 107
  • Cortisol / adrenal testing16 of 107
  • Heavy metals testing15 of 107

Functional medicine for pain & inflammation: common questions

How many functional medicine practices list pain & inflammation?

107 of the 264 practices we list name pain & inflammation on their own websites. Listing a condition doesn't mean a treatment has been shown to work; ask each practice what it offers and why.

Do functional medicine practices that list pain & inflammation take insurance?

13 of the 107 practices say they bill insurance for visits, 35 provide a superbill instead and 18 are cash only. 40 don't say. Ask whether lab tests are billed separately.

How much does a first functional medicine visit cost that list pain & inflammation?

19 practices publish a first-visit price: median $475, from $250 to $3,600. The rest don't publish prices, so ask each practice.

What credentials do functional medicine practitioners that list pain & inflammation have?

"Functional medicine" is an approach, not a licence. Credentials listed on the practices' own websites, by number of practices: MD (44), DC (36), NP (29), ND (23) and PA (12).

Do these practices offer telehealth?

57 of the 107 say they offer telehealth visits; each profile lists the states it covers. Ask the clinician to confirm they're licensed where you are before booking.

Which lab tests do practices that list pain & inflammation name on their sites?

The tests named most often by practices that list pain & inflammation are Food sensitivity testing (24), Stool testing (23), Genetic testing (20) and Micronutrient testing (19). Ask whether insurance covers them before testing.

Can I talk to a practice before booking?

40 of the 107 offer a discovery call before the first visit (33 say it's free).

Are these practices accepting new patients?

17 of the 107 say they're accepting new patients on their website. The rest don't say; ask before booking.

What does IFMCP mean on a listing?

It's a certification practitioners report from the Institute for Functional Medicine. 12 of these 107 practices say a clinician holds it; we show it as self-reported because we haven't confirmed it with the Institute for Functional Medicine.

Sources

  1. NPPES NPI Registry — NPI, credentials, licence numbers and taxonomy
  2. Practice websites — each practice's own website — pricing, insurance, services and conditions (dated per listing)
  3. Partner's published pages — partner pricing and insurance, from its published pages

This page is for information only and isn't medical advice. Talk to your own clinician about diagnosis and treatment.